March 28, 2024, 10:01:00 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Brand new - broken key - disappointed.  (Read 4459 times)

hatemagick

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Brand new - broken key - disappointed.
« on: May 01, 2013, 05:58:22 pm »
One of the keys, a B, is 3-4 cm above the others and impossible to press down. It's a holiday here in Norway so I can't talk to the retailer, but they're respectable so I'm guessing I should just send it back to them unless this could be easily fixed? The key is very loose and can be lifted high up, but it can't be pushed down at all. I have no experience fixing synths.

Jon

stevism

• Beta-testers
Re: Brand new - broken key - disappointed.
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2013, 07:21:27 pm »
no push down at all?

so you can't play a note, or use aftertouch?

hatemagick

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2013, 08:11:02 pm »
no push down at all?

I just connected the synth for the first time and it sounds more amazing than I dreamed of, but yes the key is completely without response. I have made a video so that you can see it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKmxx7W4JbA&feature=youtu.be
Now the question is whether I should keep it and fix it myself or send it back and wait for replacement?

hatemagick

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2013, 08:33:18 pm »
no push down at all?

I just connected the synth for the first time and it sounds more amazing than I dreamed of, but yes the key is completely without response. I have made a video so that you can see it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uKmxx7W4JbA&feature=youtu.be
Now the question is whether I should keep it and fix it myself or send it back and wait for replacement?

I found a flashlight and this is what I found. This piece of plastic was underneath the key and was blocking it. It seems to have broken off completely and is what is supposed to hold the key in place.