December 01, 2022, 09:50:25 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Transpose semitones?  (Read 93 times)

draken73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Transpose semitones?
« on: November 24, 2022, 10:19:14 am »
Hi!
I'm rather new to V-Collection... Is there a way to "transpose" an instrument a semitone up or down? Kind of having a struggle since I'm using UAD Luna at the moment and would like to transpose some keyboard parts on the fly (not afterwards)... making them easier to play.

MajorFubar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.073
  • Karma: 31
Re: Transpose semitones?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2022, 01:52:25 pm »
Welcome

Some instruments have pitch shifting facilities but there is no one universal control across the whole suite.
Doesn't your DAW have something that will transpose received midi notes on the way in?
Logic certainly does, so I thought all the pro-grade DAWs had similar.
2022 Apple Studio Max 32/32/2TB Monterey 2020 MBA 8/8/512GB Monterey V Collection 9 Analog Lab 4 + 5 KeyLab 88 KeyStep

draken73

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Transpose semitones?
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2022, 07:52:37 pm »
That's a shame... Yeah, so did I until i discovered that Luna doesn't come with this feature :/ Hopefully it will show up in the future but this is a real bummer... I'm deep into a project and about to try some synths. Too many black keys involved for my taste. Can of course export a quick mix and do it in Logic but I'm so bummed there's no easier way to fix this atm. This is a simple feature you expect to find in all DAWs (and software synths).

MajorFubar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.073
  • Karma: 31
Re: Transpose semitones?
« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2022, 01:00:35 pm »
Not wanting to appear biased but I can kind of understand why there isn't an overall transpose setting in V Collection, because there isn't a 'wrapper' for the entire collection where such a global setting would be hosted, except Analog Lab, which both sort-of is, but mostly isn't, a V Collection wrapper.

I'm surprised Luna doesn't have anything to transpose incoming midi notes. Every time someone tells me how out of date Logic is becoming and how it's bordering on being Apple abandonware, it doesn't take me long to point them towards some feature in it that their preferred DAW is lacking. ProTools users...well I have a list as long as a toilet roll, especially on the midi side of things.
2022 Apple Studio Max 32/32/2TB Monterey 2020 MBA 8/8/512GB Monterey V Collection 9 Analog Lab 4 + 5 KeyLab 88 KeyStep

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.564
  • Karma: 116
Re: Transpose semitones?
« Reply #4 on: November 25, 2022, 03:44:32 pm »
Hello,

I believe it's a quite common DAW feature in one way or another..

Can't you transpose your controller?

And yes - In Analog Lab Multies you have options to transpose parts pr preset.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines