January 28, 2023, 11:51:39 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: A preset issue  (Read 903 times)

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
A preset issue
« on: April 13, 2022, 12:05:31 pm »
Hi,

Augmented Strings Intro is a great new instrument - thanks.

Unfortunately there is some clicking going on in the beautiful preset "Del Mar" in. It can come and go, but mostly it's there when selecting the preset and start playing.
It would be great if this could be fixed as it's a very very nice preset.

Windows 10.

francoise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 1
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2022, 02:44:03 pm »
Hi LBH,

On Win 10 (i7, 16g. ram, Scarlett 4i4 3rg gen), old Yamaha cp-33 and k37 as controllers, I tried A.S. 1.0.0.1964 as standalone and VST in Cubase 12. I got no click with Del Mar after choosing the preset, except maybe once but it was short and faint and I wasn't  able to replicate.

Nothing worse than a come and go  >:(. Maybe someone else will replicate.

Francoise

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2022, 07:03:24 pm »
Thanks for trying and replying francoise.

Every time i select the preset the click is there. It's a repetitive rythmic click. So it's not about a gate click when playing notes.
It's on long notes.
After a while it can stop and then return several times, when i keep playing.
It look like a preset issue to me.

I have the issue on 2 PCs.

It's strange, if this should be a local issue on 2 PCs. But it's hard to understand, where the click come from.

Cheers

francoise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 1
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2022, 08:28:38 pm »
I certainly don't get such a repetitive rythmic click.

But it reminds me of a problem I still face with some CS-80 presets eg. factory HPF sweep: if the Midi button (left of keyboard on the interface) is pressed, I hear a distinctive repetitive rythmic click following the CS-80 tempo. It concerns the CS-80 standalone only.
Maybe you should try changing tempo to check if it rhythmically follows the tempo. It's strange that it shows up in a specific preset. But it's a quiet preset.

On the CS-80, I simply turn the Midi sync off.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #4 on: April 14, 2022, 09:26:13 pm »
Yes it's a quiet and beautiful preset. Very expressive too. I love it. That's why i mind the click. It can be very loud.

I did actually had the same thought about the click i cs-80, but for some reason i forgot to check. Thanks for the reminder. Good call.
I have tested now, and the click actually change tempo with the tempo settings in Audio Midi Settings in the standalone version, and with the DAW tempo when using the plugin version - both VST2 and VST3.

But afaik we don't have a way to change deep settings in Augmented Strings Intro. So it's nothing i can do anything about.
It should narrow down where to look for the issue.

Ang

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #5 on: April 14, 2022, 11:03:03 pm »
I had the clicks here, too. They disappeared as soon as I turned off the animations.

Looks like the CPU has a lot to do in calculating them, and it fires up the GPU generating extra heat, with no musical sense. So, please, better focus on sound, not eye candy...

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #6 on: April 14, 2022, 11:05:48 pm »
I had the clicks here, too. They disappeared as soon as I turned off the animations.
I've had and have the animations turned off.

francoise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 1
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #7 on: April 15, 2022, 03:59:25 pm »
"Yes it's a quiet and beautiful preset. "

I thing it's the preset with the slowest attack. More so with full color. Ideal as a backing to a piano.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #8 on: April 15, 2022, 09:05:34 pm »
It look like the click also is affected by the Color control. If it morphs 2 samples/ sounds, then it's probably the sound for high Color values that click. It seems to be something that is affected by the Color control.

CPUconscious78

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2022, 03:37:33 am »
I agree these are beautiful patches, but so CPU intensive! Using the stand-alone on my Mac Mini (2019) with 16GB RAM, I cannot play two  triads back to back without spiking to 100%, even with the graphics turned off! I have no plugin that is even close to this level of CPU drain. How could I consider purchasing this instrument in future with such a high demand on my machine?  ???

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.712
  • Karma: 155
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2022, 08:24:13 pm »
Have access to the advanced settings in the full version now.
The clicking is about Function 1's Filter A Cutoff modulation.

EDIT: I can actually see changes that should'nt be there in the small FUNC 1 modulation animation display. It's a straight line until it click. EDIT END
« Last Edit: June 03, 2022, 09:53:17 pm by LBH »

Christopher Burke

  • Guest
Re: A preset issue
« Reply #11 on: November 12, 2022, 07:38:22 am »
Dear Everyone with Clicking. 

This sounds ghastly-familiar.  I think whoever did the loop for this patch didn't loop it properly, so the 'click' is a tiny bit of noise on the start/end of the loop.  Think of it like a scratch on an old-style LP.  When it's got the graphics going as well, the loop slows down (cos of CPU usage) so the click will get louder and last longer. When there's less graphic usage, the click will be quicker and fainter!

Unless whoever designed the loop re-does it with the fade-in-out of the loop edited more carefully, there's not a lot you can do about it EXCEPT....

Re-do the sound as a Soundfont.  Get Audacity.  Record a short segment of the loop going up and down the scale of C, one loop per note.  CAREFULLY fade in and out on the beginning and end of the loop, using Audacity's controls (it's got FADE IN and FADE OUT in its EFFECTS menu.) Play it back on loop in Audacity to make sure there's no clicking.  Then export each note into a folder when you know it's click free. 

Go to anyconv.com/sf2-converter.  Upload the notes.  And download the resultant soundfont! You should now have a soundfont with all the sounds going up and down the scale of C, no clicks.

Why C? Because you should be able to do all the sharps and flats without the sound 'sounding weird'.  I'm not an expert in this, I just discovered if a sound moved too far away from its origin, it started sounding stupid-weird.  So I used the scale of C and as it's only moving half a note away from the starting sound at any given time, you can get away with it.  I've got a whole library of orchestral sounds from posh demo downloads by doing that. 

Hope the above helps.  Dunno why they missed the click in that one when they were creating the plugin.  Pretty sure that's what it is though - they didn't get their loop right.  Think this thing's a Maizeplayer.  Maizeplayers work on loops. 

Yours respectfully

Chris.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines