April 19, 2024, 11:17:24 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Low Pass & High Pass Filter Thru-Sound  (Read 1615 times)

Boricua

• Apprentice
Low Pass & High Pass Filter Thru-Sound
« on: January 05, 2022, 10:37:45 pm »
Hello,

I am completely new to the Polybrute and have spent the last couple of days getting acquainted with this amazing device.  As I went through the manual to learn a couple of items, I noticed that that I would hear sound coming through when placing the unit on the Init patch with the Low-Pass (Steiner Filter) or the High-Pass while having the Cutoff at Min/Max (16 Hz & 26.57 KHz) respectively.  The manual indicates that "NO" sound should be heard with such settings.  Thus my question.  Is this normal, or, could there be an issue with the unit? 

Thank you.

p.s. I performed a voice auto-tuning, yet, with same results afterwards.

larioso

Re: Low Pass & High Pass Filter Thru-Sound
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 11:45:38 pm »
The Init preset sends oscillators only to Ladder filter.

Did you change this, or?

The Steiner setting should have no impact at all.

If you send oscillators to Steiner what manual states should be correct.
Just press buttons in mixer until only upper led is lit.
« Last Edit: January 05, 2022, 11:50:20 pm by larioso »

Boricua

• Apprentice
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2022, 12:23:18 am »
Yes, that is exactly what I did.  Following the Manual instructions (pages 15-17), I hit the VCO1 (Mixer) selector pad to only have the "Orange" circle lit, thus, only the Steiner Filter would be accessed.  Then proceeded to move the Cutoff knob (of the Steiner Filter) to Min/Max while using either "LP" or "HP.  I could still hear sound through my headset (running through external mixer ProFX) at those extremes.  The sound was much lower, yet, still there.