February 07, 2023, 08:40:24 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Does the CV output need buffering?  (Read 980 times)

Mark Hammer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Does the CV output need buffering?
« on: April 15, 2021, 10:58:54 pm »
I tried my Keystep 37 with a pair of analog oscillators and no matter how I tried adjusting the scaling of the oscillators' CV input, and playing with trimmers, one of them always has octaves 11 keys apart (i.e., the Keystep's CV output "pushes" the oscillator sharp, requiring use of a lower note), no matter where on the keyboard, and the other oscillator always requires 15 keys to produce an octave (i.e., the Keystep's CV output is flat).

Neither of the oscillators have a buffer, as shown here, below.  Do I need to install something like  an op-amp buffer stage between the Keystep and the CV in on the oscillator to make the CV/pitch relationship more accurate?

Mark Hammer

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Does the CV output need buffering?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2021, 07:48:23 pm »
Never mind.   Crisis averted and Keystep's golden reputation restored.

I revealed the source of the error to myself quite by accident.  Seems a few years ago I had installed one of the two trimmers on the side of the board I couldn't easily see, and just rediscovered the "secret" trimmer about an hour ago.  Moved it to the visible side of the board, adjusted it and now the Keystep's CV output generates perfect octaves.

Sorry for the unnecessary fuss.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines