April 13, 2021, 01:00:28 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: VCO2 keyboard tracking  (Read 458 times)

GabrielMihaly

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
VCO2 keyboard tracking
« on: February 21, 2021, 11:09:08 pm »
Hello im Gabriel from Slovakia!

I read in the manual that with the internal default wiring, the pitch of VCO2 tracks the pitch of VCO1 (VCO1 pitch tracks the MIDI KBD) .
But if i connect in the patch bay the MIDI KBD output to VCO2 PITCH input, i hear VCO2 in one or two octave higher, than without this connection.

Can anyone explain this to me?

psienide

  • Newbie
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
Re: VCO2 keyboard tracking
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2021, 04:16:19 am »
You may need to make sure the range switch on VCO2 is set to "Fine" - it sounds like it may be in "All."

Testing this on my end, connecting KBD to VCO2 pitch on produces the correct pitch. I have my oscillators tuned so that the middle of the pot range lines up with C4.

GabrielMihaly

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: VCO2 keyboard tracking
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2021, 02:07:23 pm »
Thank you for reply!

Sorry for my bad english, i never study it.
You didn't understand my question.So I can explain well what I was thinking.I'm going to ask you to do the following:

1. Make ONLY VCO2 in mixer track to maximum level (without any connection in the patch bay, only default settings). Press  the first (C) PAD.
2. Put a patch cable between MIDI KBD and VCO2 PITCH. Press the first pad.
3. Hold your finger on first pad, and make the patch cable on the VCO2 side plug-unplug-plug-unplug-...

Can you hear that now?
« Last Edit: February 24, 2021, 02:12:21 pm by GabrielMihaly »

psienide

  • Newbie
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
Re: VCO2 keyboard tracking
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2021, 05:00:55 am »
Ahh yeah, you're right.

It does the same thing with an outboard pitch CV (but only seems to transpose one octave instead of two), but odd that triggering local keyboard doesn't change the pitch then.

I'm at a loss to explain this. My first thought was that it was really tracking VCO1 pitch and patching in doesn't break normalization - but that doesn't explain local KBD changes not affecting pitch from outboard.

Sounds like we need to enter a ticket.

psienide

  • Newbie
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Karma: 0
Re: VCO2 keyboard tracking
« Reply #4 on: March 25, 2021, 02:50:38 am »
I'm not sure if you resolved this already, but I was able to figure it out.

You just need to set up your base octave settings in the midi control center. Looks like they default to C-1 but to make the pitch match you need to use C1.

I also found that C2 seemed to be the correct settings for my modular gear.

GabrielMihaly

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: VCO2 keyboard tracking
« Reply #5 on: April 03, 2021, 08:53:41 am »
Thank you!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines