April 11, 2021, 01:29:31 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?  (Read 232 times)

Soundsurfer8000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?
« on: February 06, 2021, 07:31:25 pm »
How do I setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal aka half-pedal?
When plugging the FC3A into the sustain port of my KeyLab 61 MKII it currently only works as a switch.

Does anyone have a solution for this issue?

Soundsurfer8000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2021, 05:51:59 pm »
Ok found the solution myself ;)

In case anyone encounters the same issues as me:
1. Open the MIDI Control Center
2. Click the the sustain port in the main view
3. Change the mode from "Switched control" to "Control" (Enables the half-pedaling function)
4. Invert the values from 127 to 0 as well as 0 to 127 (Needed to do this because the FC3A doesn't have a polarity switch)
5. Go the device settings and change the continuous sustain values to about 16 and 107 (I had to this to correct the min/max values to the full range of 0 to 127; my FC3A only sent 16 to 110 by default, so I need to expand it to its full range)

I wish Arturia would provide presets for different pedals in the MCC. Or at least a support page with tutorials for the most used pedals.

computermusic

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2021, 07:13:03 am »
Hi there,

Looks like you are a few days ahead of me. Thanks for sharing your instructions! I got myself a Yamaha FC3A to connect to my Keylab29 mkII and your instructions helped me to get it to work.

Thanks!

Mauro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2021, 11:20:20 am »
I have bought an arturia MKII 88
I'm looking for a continuous sustain pedal

I have tried the Korg DS-1H and it does not work.

Do you know if (apart from the yamah fc3) the Roland DP-10 model works?

Thanks!!

Mauro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: How to setup a Yamaha FC3A as a continuous sustain pedal?
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2021, 02:31:49 pm »
Sorry

I have managed to configure the Korg pedal (continuous sustain) through an auxiliary pedal input of the arturia mkII
works perfectly as a continuous sustain pedal.

I have tested it with Pianoteq 7 from Main Stage


 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines