September 17, 2021, 03:26:13 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?  (Read 2783 times)

ilievskism

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« on: January 31, 2021, 05:15:07 pm »
So, i just bought Analog Lab V. To be honest I wish I did not.

Every time I open it in Cubase, either the project freezes or it takes like 2 minutes to load it in.

Does anyone have some guidance to help me fix this?

MajorFubar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • Karma: 19
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2021, 01:12:29 pm »
Welcome.
How quickly does it open in standalone? I have a ten year old iMac with a hard drive (remember those?) and AL5 takes about 20 seconds to load, which I accept is a consequence of my running new software on old hardware. I'm sure it's much quicker on modern computers. If your 'powerful computer' has an SSD you should be getting a better experience than me.
2011 iMac 27" MacOS 10.13 High Sierra • 2012 MBP 13" Mojave • V Collection 6 • Analog Lab 4 + 5 • KeyStep

bernd@pdx

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2021, 06:38:21 am »
I second this impression. And to add, I have been an avid user of AL4 with no performance problems. Using the same computer for AL V, the loading of the VST and change of presets takes 10x longer, same computer, same operating system. Even still with AL4 installed, which still works just fine. If it helps any, Pigments 3 started showing the same performance degradation during VST and preset loading, in comparison to Pigments 2. No performance issues during sound playback. Once VST and presets are loaded, normal synth operation works just fine. It's only the VST loading and preset changes that take longer with the AL V version vs AL4 (and Pigments 3.x vs 2.x). I run on Windows 8.1 and Windows 10, both x64. And I have heard anecdotes from Mac users with the same observations, if that helps troubleshooting.

-Bernd

moaby

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2021, 11:36:26 pm »
I have the same issue (VST and standalone).
CPU performence doesn‘t matter. It‘s always 25 sec loading time.
Once running, itˋs fine. But loading time is extremely high with 25sec per instance VST, so AbletonLive Project loading time rises with any Track/instance ALV. 

One funny thing: NI KompleteKontrol VST loading time (one instance in Ableton Live) is less than one second and it delivers full V-Collection Banks & Instruments. So NI may be the better gui for Arturia VST Collection.

Elmar
« Last Edit: May 14, 2021, 11:51:46 pm by moaby »

moaby

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2021, 11:11:39 am »
because I have no different loading times between old CPU device and actual high performance CPU (always 25sec) ist must be an issue of GUI AL5 starting routine.
Even HDD and SSD doesn’t make time difference. 

One approach to the problem:

Could ist be, that A-Lab always rescans all of my 15.000 Sound Presets/Banks? That could be reason for loading time.

In comparison - NI KompleteKontrol does  not rescan synth and sound presets in strartroutine. Rescanning library is separate part of menue settings and Must be done manually.

babistrihos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2021, 10:04:34 am »
Hi.
Same problem here.
In Standalone loads slightly faster but VST loading takes ages!!!!
Previous Lab versions worked excellent.  :-\
Have you found a solution?

Windows 10 64bit
SSD
64 GB Ram
Cubase Pro 11


creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: 1
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2021, 08:19:18 am »
Hello,

I have the same problem. Analog Lab 4 runned pretty fast but AL 5 is a disaster to load, be it standalone or VST2/3 version. Now it's a pity because I can't really use the Arturia plugins anymore. I don't know how AL 5 was coded but it probably could be optimised. Or maybe it is just a question of gpu requirements now that the GUI is nicer than AL 4? Who knows. Someone here?

Config: win10x64, MSI ge62-6qd, SSD samsung nvme 960 EVO 256gb, 16gb RAM, Ableton Live 11, Reaper 6

gialpu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2021, 06:16:53 pm »
Same here, currently using ableton with various plugins.
-All plugins enabled except any Arturia VST: 14 Seconds
-All Plugins enebled including any Arturia VST: about 2 minutes.

This is horrendous.

edit: not a gpu problem, I have a gtx 1080 myself.
also ryzen 5 3600, 16gb ram, ssd crucial p1, asus rog mobo, etc.
« Last Edit: July 30, 2021, 06:19:09 pm by gialpu »

babistrihos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2021, 06:42:20 pm »
I sent an email to Arturia support.
As a solution they suggested this procedure:

"Delete a specific temp file called "db.db3".

MAC: /Library/Arturia/Presets
WIN: C:\ProgramData\Arturia\Presets

If you have not enabled the display of hidden folders please go to your file explorer -> display -> check "show hidden folders"

Alternatively, you should be also able to directly copy/paste the path indicated above in your Windows File browser address bar.

Once this file is deleted, the preset list will be updated on software opening."

My comments:
Indeed the loading time of both standalone and plug-in dramatically changed to very fast. 
Please update to latest version and use vst3 if you can.
I think that's a solution !!! ;)


« Last Edit: July 30, 2021, 06:44:48 pm by babistrihos »

moaby

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2021, 09:06:48 pm »
That makes absolutely no sense.

After deleting the Presets Data File ALab starts quickly - but then it takes several minutes to relocate  all instruments banks and (16.000) preset files.

After that, any new start of ALab is as slow as befor.

 :-\

babistrihos

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Slow loading time on a powerful computer?
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2021, 09:38:50 pm »
... but for me worked :)
Both standalone and plugin loads now fast as expected.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines