April 19, 2024, 05:20:04 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Non hardware/just software setup  (Read 3121 times)

nicolaspichardo

• Apprentice
Non hardware/just software setup
« on: December 04, 2020, 11:22:26 pm »
Hi forum users, i’m fairly new to the world of synths and electronic music, although i’m always learning and aiming towards building my own setup for creation. Right now i only own the Arturia V Collection and it is my main source for sounds/instruments, unfortunately no hardware synths yet (i do intend to buy in the future). With all these things in my mind i’ve been looking for a controller/sequencer that helps me develop ideas faster, and smoothens the creative process by having it all in one place. For this i believe the KeyStep Pro would really suit my needs, though i know it’s main purpose is to work with hardware synths with all the CV controls, etc. So my question really is, could a just software setup work well with the KSP? e.g. setting each of the 4 sequencers to a different MIDI channel with a different synth from the collection all within the DAW. Again i know the main usage for the KSP is with hardware, but i do intend to get some in the future.
Thanks in advance for the attention and i hope i can use some of your guidance!

synthcreep

• Apprentice
Re: Non hardware/just software setup
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2020, 01:46:43 am »
In its current form the KSP is most suited as a phrase scratchpad with any significant song or composition creation done externally.  It isn't really designed to be a comprehensive MIDI controller so if your goal is to control a bunch of soft-synths, you would be better off with a traditional MIDI controller plus a software sequencer / DAW (Abelton, Logic, etc.)

The KSP can be fun but it is also immensely frustrating to use due to major bugs and missing features and I simply cannot recommend it, especially if this would be your first sequencer.