September 17, 2021, 01:51:31 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?  (Read 1322 times)

tompox

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
  • Too old for dance music, too young for musette.
    • Maquettes au kilomètre
WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« on: August 25, 2020, 12:31:46 pm »
The White Zone is for loading and unloading only
 If you gotta load or unload, go to the White Zone...

MajorFubar

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 734
  • Karma: 19
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2020, 01:50:49 pm »
2011 iMac 27" MacOS 10.13 High Sierra • 2012 MBP 13" Mojave • V Collection 6 • Analog Lab 4 + 5 • KeyStep

tompox

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
  • Too old for dance music, too young for musette.
    • Maquettes au kilomètre
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2020, 06:30:48 pm »
Loopop covers it!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IUAeMkn2JVw

IT'S TRUE!!!
The White Zone is for loading and unloading only
 If you gotta load or unload, go to the White Zone...

BLEO

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
    • The dUmmydroMe
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2020, 06:37:07 pm »
Works with the standard Microfreak and the firmware update is available NOW! I installed it and tried it out and it actually WORKS!

tompox

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: 0
  • Too old for dance music, too young for musette.
    • Maquettes au kilomètre
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #4 on: August 25, 2020, 07:00:00 pm »
Updated as well, I am waiting for the gooseneck mike to be available.
The White Zone is for loading and unloading only
 If you gotta load or unload, go to the White Zone...

jujub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #5 on: August 25, 2020, 08:09:36 pm »
Works with the standard Microfreak and the firmware update is available NOW! I installed it and tried it out and it actually WORKS!

What did you use for Mic input? I've been trying with a TRRS headset and not getting anything...
Played around with the mic settings in the menus but couldn't get it to work.


BLEO

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 30
  • Karma: 0
    • The dUmmydroMe
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #6 on: August 25, 2020, 08:20:38 pm »
Works with the standard Microfreak and the firmware update is available NOW! I installed it and tried it out and it actually WORKS!

What did you use for Mic input? I've been trying with a TRRS headset and not getting anything...
Played around with the mic settings in the menus but couldn't get it to work.

I had this janky old mic that my uncle messily hack an 1/8" TRS jack onto probably 25+ years ago. I plugged it in and it just worked!

BodoBrute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 4
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #7 on: August 26, 2020, 10:16:02 am »
Would it be possible to get a simple specification concerning the TRRS?

My assumption is: Headphones L - Headphones R - GND - Mic (from tip to shaft)

Is that correct?

I mean - I have the MicroFreak, I'll update the firmware soon, but I have plenty of microphones (so no need to buy another one actually), and am capable of putting together a suitable adapter (I don't even need the headphone out while having plugged in a microphone).

Edit: Or it shoudl be possible to simply use a common headset adapter, right?
« Last Edit: August 26, 2020, 10:22:24 am by BodoBrute »

beudbordel

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #8 on: August 26, 2020, 11:34:46 am »
There are two TRRS headset types : the Apple's way, and the other's way.

My bet on this is that Arturia went with the Apple way so any smartphone headset given with an android phone will fail.
Sold my MF so I can't verify, but I suggest someone test those two options and provide feedback

BodoBrute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 4
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2020, 12:11:42 pm »
I suggest someone test those two options and provide feedback

The easiest way would be Arturia telling whether it is CTIA standard (the one I posted previously), or OMTP standard, in which GND and Mic are switched (Hph L - Hph R- Mic - GND, from tip to shaft).

Dean111181

  • Newbie
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2020, 01:37:22 pm »
I've updated mine, getting very little sound from the vocoder, slight click but nothing else.

Will try the advice above re apple mic cable, had a swatch at the manual update but couldn't see anything about the mic other than the settings.

Germain.arturia

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 369
  • Karma: 15
  • arturia test team
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #11 on: August 27, 2020, 02:37:42 pm »
Hello, as mentioned in the manual page 121 and 123:
The input follows the CTIA, AHJ standard and has four segments; Tip=Headphone Left:Headphone Right (Ring 2): Ground (Ring 3) and Sleeve=Microphone.

Also on page 124 : It is possible to use headset microphones often bundled with mobile phones for themicrophone input, or clip-on lavalier microphones as long as they conform to the CTIA, AHJ standard

I personally already used the Sony Ps4 mic/headphones they provide with the console, it worked fine.

Also, please note that if you had only OMTP device (the other TRRS norm which inverts the ground and microphone wiring) it simply won't work. Luckily, OMTP/CTIA converters are available on the Market.

Here's some steps to experience vocoder stuff.
Go in utility menu and check mic settings :
Mic Gain should be default set to Auto Gain
Noise gate should be default set to -70dB
Mic detection should be default set to ON

Exit utility menu and load an init preset
once done change OSC type to vocoder ( it' s the latest one when browsing to the right)
Hold a note with your finger while speaking/singing in your mic , you should hear your vocoded voice.

If not, try to change Mic gain in utility settings.

Hope it helps,
best


BodoBrute

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
  • Karma: 4
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #12 on: August 28, 2020, 09:03:09 pm »
Hello, as mentioned in the manual page 121 and 123:
The input follows the CTIA, AHJ standard and has four segments; Tip=Headphone Left:Headphone Right (Ring 2): Ground (Ring 3) and Sleeve=Microphone.

Argh. Yes, I could've looked that up myself *facepalm*. Sorry for asking such a dumb question.

Oh, and thanks anyway!

Also, please note that if you had only OMTP device (the other TRRS norm which inverts the ground and microphone wiring) it simply won't work. Luckily, OMTP/CTIA converters are available on the Market.

Yep, but these are all for 3.5 mm (1/8") jacks. I'll solder my own adapter since I want to use 6.35 mm (1/4") jacks. But that's not a ig deal.

Here's some steps to experience vocoder stuff.
Go in utility menu and check mic settings :
Mic Gain should be default set to Auto Gain
Noise gate should be default set to -70dB
Mic detection should be default set to ON

Exit utility menu and load an init preset
once done change OSC type to vocoder ( it' s the latest one when browsing to the right)
Hold a note with your finger while speaking/singing in your mic , you should hear your vocoded voice.

If not, try to change Mic gain in utility settings.

Awesome, thanks!

I'll be able to do a three voice vocoder choir then  ;D, since the MicroFreak's vocoder is my third one (I already have the microKorg and the MusicFromOuterSpace DIY vocoder :D).

Thanks again! Highly appreciated!

jujub

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: WTF? White Microfreak Vocoder?
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2020, 08:52:44 pm »
Was able to get things working with a cheap set of earbuds. I think there must have been an impedance or power issue using my larger over ear Pioneer headset.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines