April 19, 2024, 10:54:36 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: basic question  (Read 1741 times)

katblack1666

basic question
« on: June 26, 2020, 08:16:30 am »
Hi,
 I am new to using midi keyboards and have just bought a keylab essential 49. I am really sorry this is such a basic question but I am having trouble starting up.

I have registered my product and downloaded analog lab, midi control center and Arturia Software center.  Keylab is attached properly to my computer and lights up.
I have watched the initial tutorial videos and followed along up to the point where it says "press 'map select' then the Analog Lab pad.  Analog lights up on the display. I press the Cat/char button and turn the main knob to change settings but the display just stays with 'Analog Lab' and no options come up- as they seem to do automatically in the tutorial. Then (the guy in the tutorial) seems to just play and be heard.

I can't go past this and don't know who to ask for help- so... HELP!

I just want to do basic stuff ( at first) for my songwriting- but can't even get the most basic things happening- like sound!

Any suggestions welcome
Many thanks, Katie

Koshdukai

• Beta-testers
Re: basic question
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2020, 10:15:26 am »
Hi,

Mandatory initial basic questions:
1 ) Are you using a Mac or Windows computer?
2 ) Were you running the Analog Lab 4 software on your computer while you had your KeyLab connected to it through USB ? ...if not, try to find in your computer the "Analog Lab 4" application and start it.
3 ) If yes, does it show at the bottom of the Analog Lab 4 window, a cogwheel icon next to "MIDI Controller: KeyLab Essential" ? If not, click on whatever name it shows (maybe "Generic MIDI Controler"?) and it'll show a list of MIDI controllers. Select "KeyLab Essential"

Regarding no sound coming out: