December 07, 2021, 06:26:46 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: MIDI Program Change  (Read 2853 times)

cnps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: -1
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #15 on: March 30, 2021, 08:46:28 pm »
+1 please

eric

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 16
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2021, 11:53:25 am »
+1000

donnied

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #17 on: April 27, 2021, 08:11:10 pm »
+10^6

starlilyth

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #18 on: May 07, 2021, 05:56:56 pm »
Its pretty unbelievable that this is STILL not implemented with the 2.0 firmware. For a controller that bills itself as the be-all for controlling hardware, this is a gigantic miss.

slevin

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #19 on: May 07, 2021, 06:28:01 pm »
i really love the update the long list of good and usefull new features and bugfixes. i dont want to blame arturia. much love for your good productsupport policy <3 !! But i also was looking very hopefully looking for the 2.0fw to finaly send programm changes to my external synth. and i was pretty sure this feature would come in the upcoming fw.

so i was a bit disapointed too as i read the changelog and realised this often requested feature is not included in the firmware revison. I really wanted the keystep to be my brain of my livesets iam building and safely lean on it for a good workflow in the next years (like for example elektron). Dont get me wrong iam still pretty impressed by this performant and good sequencer! But without to do programm changes there is a big point which downgrades the ksp for me a bit.

The point is, when i want to do programm changes on external gear nevertheless the only way to do this now is to use some additional source/device extra for that. for example i can do it with clips in a daw that iam triggering wich do the changes on the synth over a launchpad. but in this case i also need a additional midi merger to bundle the midisignal correctly from the ksp & the device that is triggering the pgm changes, so there is also no benefit to now get a miditruh option atleast. And for now thats the only way to accomplish it that occurs to me, so it seems to be i have to go this way.
« Last Edit: May 07, 2021, 06:45:16 pm by slevin »

cnps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: -1
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #20 on: May 07, 2021, 07:54:33 pm »
i really love the update the long list of good and usefull new features and bugfixes. i dont want to blame arturia. much love for your good productsupport policy <3 !! But i also was looking very hopefully looking for the 2.0fw to finaly send programm changes to my external synth. and i was pretty sure this feature would come in the upcoming fw.

so i was a bit disapointed too as i read the changelog and realised this often requested feature is not included in the firmware revison. I really wanted the keystep to be my brain of my livesets iam building and safely lean on it for a good workflow in the next years (like for example elektron). Dont get me wrong iam still pretty impressed by this performant and good sequencer! But without to do programm changes there is a big point which downgrades the ksp for me a bit.

The point is, when i want to do programm changes on external gear nevertheless the only way to do this now is to use some additional source/device extra for that. for example i can do it with clips in a daw that iam triggering wich do the changes on the synth over a launchpad. but in this case i also need a additional midi merger to bundle the midisignal correctly from the ksp & the device that is triggering the pgm changes, so there is also no benefit to now get a miditruh option atleast. And for now thats the only way to accomplish it that occurs to me, so it seems to be i have to go this way.

I feel you brother.

starlilyth

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #21 on: May 07, 2021, 10:02:12 pm »
i really love the update the long list of good and usefull new features and bugfixes. i dont want to blame arturia. much love for your good productsupport policy <3 !! But i also was looking very hopefully looking for the 2.0fw to finaly send programm changes to my external synth. and i was pretty sure this feature would come in the upcoming fw.

so i was a bit disapointed too as i read the changelog and realised this often requested feature is not included in the firmware revison. I really wanted the keystep to be my brain of my livesets iam building and safely lean on it for a good workflow in the next years (like for example elektron). Dont get me wrong iam still pretty impressed by this performant and good sequencer! But without to do programm changes there is a big point which downgrades the ksp for me a bit.


Same for me.

winddealer

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 57
  • Karma: 0
Nick Batts recent awkard moment with the KSP
« Reply #22 on: May 08, 2021, 03:08:33 am »
In a recent segment Nick Batt from SonicState is using the KSP (at 28:00 - 28:30 in the video below) where he stated something to the effect of  "..if you had a "master keyboard" that supported Program Changes ....".    Sadly, the keyboard he used in the video doesn't include a facility to support midi Program Change messages, "doh".
I got the sense that at that moment he immediately realized that the KSP keyboard he was using for his video lacked the very feature he needed as a workaround for the other device!  IRONIC isn't it.   Nick then stated he was going to reach out to the "other" vendor to get them to support midi Program Changes in their product.  Yet, that product isn't considered a "master keyboard controller".   Instead, Nic really needs to contact Arturia and ask them to support midi Program Change messages with the KSP.    Here is a perfect example of why this capability is needed.  In your face KSP!   
My fear is that when and if Arturia ever decides to support midi Program Change messages (in the next 36 months?) it will be some half baked "kluge" where you have to use some intermediate tool like "Midi Control Mangler".   What is being requested is the ability to initiate a midi Program Change message in real-time using the a combination of rotary knobs and a simple shift function.   Or it's crippled to only let you implement a midi Program Change on selected midi channels like 1-4 instead of any midi channel (1-16 for example).   Mark my words. 
Here is the video:   
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=za4UsIO-dKc

"Hi Nick, would you mind opening a case with Arturia and let them know that midi channel Program Change message is long overdue."  Thanks :)
Let's hope that "whenever" Arturia gets around to implementing midi Program Change messages via the front panel buttons and encoders it won't be via the "Midi Control Mangler" to get it done.


« Last Edit: May 08, 2021, 03:28:58 am by winddealer »
KSP, KS, KL61 MkII, VCol7, Faderfox EC4, Peak, Tyros4, Reaper

cnps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: -1
Re: Nick Batts recent awkard moment with the KSP
« Reply #23 on: May 08, 2021, 10:00:44 am »
In a recent segment Nick Batt from SonicState is using the KSP (at 28:00 - 28:30 in the video below) where he stated something to the effect of  "..if you had a "master keyboard" that supported Program Changes ....".    Sadly, the keyboard he used in the video doesn't include a facility to support midi Program Change messages, "doh".
I got the sense that at that moment he immediately realized that the KSP keyboard he was using for his video lacked the very feature he needed as a workaround for the other device!  IRONIC isn't it.   Nick then stated he was going to reach out to the "other" vendor to get them to support midi Program Changes in their product.  Yet, that product isn't considered a "master keyboard controller".   Instead, Nic really needs to contact Arturia and ask them to support midi Program Change messages with the KSP.    Here is a perfect example of why this capability is needed.  In your face KSP!   
My fear is that when and if Arturia ever decides to support midi Program Change messages (in the next 36 months?) it will be some half baked "kluge" where you have to use some intermediate tool like "Midi Control Mangler".   What is being requested is the ability to initiate a midi Program Change message in real-time using the a combination of rotary knobs and a simple shift function.   Or it's crippled to only let you implement a midi Program Change on selected midi channels like 1-4 instead of any midi channel (1-16 for example).   Mark my words. 
Here is the video:   
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=za4UsIO-dKc

"Hi Nick, would you mind opening a case with Arturia and let them know that midi channel Program Change message is long overdue."  Thanks :)
Let's hope that "whenever" Arturia gets around to implementing midi Program Change messages via the front panel buttons and encoders it won't be via the "Midi Control Mangler" to get it done.

Haha interesting video indeed thanks.

Btw Edouard wrote yesterday on GS:

" Program change : To program change external gear : NO ! "

This is something we consider to work on for the next update as a lot of people seems to want it !


https://gearspace.com/board/electronic-music-instruments-and-electronic-music-production/1294553-arturia-keystep-pro-20.html
« Last Edit: May 08, 2021, 10:02:50 am by cnps »

HardScience

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #24 on: May 25, 2021, 04:56:40 pm »
+1

This is the most important and useful feature that is not included on the Keystep Pro. I control 3 to 4 synths via MIDI and it is essential for me to be able to send program change messages to all of them. Not only when changing songs, but also when changing between patterns.

Please please please add this feature.
« Last Edit: May 25, 2021, 06:31:00 pm by HardScience »

straypacket

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #25 on: June 23, 2021, 02:04:55 am »
+100
This is basic functionality - please can we have this feature?

paulmesser

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #26 on: July 21, 2021, 03:10:20 pm »
Yes. Please.

DizziDeCazz

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #27 on: July 23, 2021, 10:36:04 am »
Absolutely. This isn't a workable live performance tool without this feature for me, which is why I bought it assuming this most basic of functionality would be there. When performing live, uncomplicated and quick change from song to song is crucial. At project level at a minimum, clip level preferred.

Groakes

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #28 on: August 23, 2021, 06:09:23 pm »
+ 1

At least have it as a Project setting so that when you select a project it sends Program Change messages

DingLuKai

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
Re: MIDI Program Change
« Reply #29 on: October 16, 2021, 11:31:46 am »
+100

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines