December 06, 2021, 06:41:29 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Record velocity when step sequencing  (Read 961 times)

slinke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Record velocity when step sequencing
« on: December 12, 2020, 11:00:40 pm »
I LOVE this sequencer but this is the only MIDI step sequencer I've used that doesn't record velocity and I'm not sure why someone would want this. We can make adjustments on our synths if we need it to be steady or ignored. And of course we can adjust it per note but one at a time for hundreds/thousands of different notes? :-\

spnc

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 51
  • Karma: -5
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2020, 05:39:06 pm »
I LOVE this sequencer but this is the only MIDI step sequencer I've used that doesn't record velocity and I'm not sure why someone would want this. We can make adjustments on our synths if we need it to be steady or ignored. And of course we can adjust it per note but one at a time for hundreds/thousands of different notes? :-\

Yes pretty lame. Fixed in firmware update v2.0 coming soon hopefully.

Andrew Henderson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #2 on: December 13, 2020, 11:56:07 pm »
I LOVE this sequencer but this is the only MIDI step sequencer I've used that doesn't record velocity and I'm not sure why someone would want this. We can make adjustments on our synths if we need it to be steady or ignored. And of course we can adjust it per note but one at a time for hundreds/thousands of different notes? :-\

Do you mean, setting a static setting, that the KSP, will always adhere to?  You mean always 127, etc?

slinke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2020, 03:56:13 am »
I LOVE this sequencer but this is the only MIDI step sequencer I've used that doesn't record velocity and I'm not sure why someone would want this. We can make adjustments on our synths if we need it to be steady or ignored. And of course we can adjust it per note but one at a time for hundreds/thousands of different notes? :-\

Do you mean, setting a static setting, that the KSP, will always adhere to?  You mean always 127, etc?

I mean it would be desirable for KSP to record the velocity of each note as is is played during step entry, like it does in real time. For some reason, with step entry, it ignores velocity sets all notes to 100.

I'm curious to hear what the opposing views are on this. Personally, I don't see an advantage.

Andrew Henderson

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 239
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2020, 01:48:13 pm »
I LOVE this sequencer but this is the only MIDI step sequencer I've used that doesn't record velocity and I'm not sure why someone would want this. We can make adjustments on our synths if we need it to be steady or ignored. And of course we can adjust it per note but one at a time for hundreds/thousands of different notes? :-\

Do you mean, setting a static setting, that the KSP, will always adhere to?  You mean always 127, etc?

I mean it would be desirable for KSP to record the velocity of each note as is is played during step entry, like it does in real time. For some reason, with step entry, it ignores velocity sets all notes to 100.

I'm curious to hear what the opposing views are on this. Personally, I don't see an advantage.

Ah!  I never really record this way, so never noticed, but I do see your point.  For consistency sakes, I too think that recording should be the same across all methods, so users know what to expect.  If velocity is recorded in one way, it should be recorded in all ways.  It really would be a waste of time having to go back and edit each note individually, just to compensate for velocity changes.

I see no reason to oppose this and I think you should raise with this support, so it gets logged for a possible future implementation.

synthcreep

  • Apprentice
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #5 on: December 14, 2020, 05:11:48 pm »
The intent I believe is that velocity can be set by the encoder as the default so it applies to every note entered in step mode, making it quick and consistent.   Personally, I prefer it that way but that's because of the genre of music I make.  My beef with the current approach is that the encoder only changes the default when outside of step edit which seems counter-intuitive.

That said, I agree it absolutely should be an option to record velocity based on what was played in both live and step record.

TonvaterJan

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #6 on: January 01, 2021, 12:09:37 pm »
+1 for recording while Step Sequencing

lespi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2021, 10:11:45 am »
+1 for this feature. Much needed!!

cnps

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
  • Karma: -1
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2021, 09:58:34 pm »
Please guys, we absolutely need more flexibility on the way the KSP records here!

al80

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 0
Re: Record velocity when step sequencing
« Reply #9 on: October 26, 2021, 09:16:34 pm »
yes.i need this too

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.17 | SMF © 2019, Simple Machines