March 29, 2024, 02:23:39 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: BSP Record button triggering changes in Volca Drum  (Read 937 times)

Sjo-erd

BSP Record button triggering changes in Volca Drum
« on: May 05, 2020, 10:26:44 pm »
Hey guys, I'm new to Arturia and have mostly been playing with Volcas up to this point.
I bought a BSP to expand my capabilities, but unfortunately I've run into a problem: The BSP triggers a change in my Volca drum when I press record, and I don't understand what is going wrong.

There's a link to a video showing the issue here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1rvo_xK1fPgXXMpvwXcq5lL9TcWV82OMI

The Volca Drum is in split-channel mode with each pad being from 1-6.
It receives everything correctly from the clock to the sequences.

What I've tried so far:
- Hard Reset of BSP
- Reinstalling Midi Control center
- Updating firmware of both units

So far nothing works and the issue persists.

Does anyone have an idea on what might be wrong?

I have around two weeks before I have to send it back if it doesn't work but I'd love to find a solution for it and actually use it.

Thank you!

megamarkd

• Dead By Dawn
Re: BSP Record button triggering changes in Volca Drum
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2020, 09:15:04 am »
Ahh this old chestnut.  The BSP is set up to send MIDI CC's when the transport buttons are used.  They are 50, 51 and 52, which are used by many, many synths that allow parameter tweaking via MIDI, including the Volca Drum.  You can deal with this in two ways, a) turn off RX short messages on the Volca (and stop it from being controlled by an external sequencer :( ) or b) change which CC's are sentby the BSP/disable sending CC's (the more desirable solution :D )