April 23, 2024, 10:25:51 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Minilab mkII vs. Reaper  (Read 7104 times)

Dave the guitarman

• Apprentice
Minilab mkII vs. Reaper
« on: April 27, 2020, 12:00:00 pm »
Hello,

I'm a guitarist, but I just bought a Minilab MkII, just to be able to add some keyboards to the songs I'm writing and recording.
I'm working with Reaper 6.0 on an ASUS laptop (Windows 7), with a Line 6 UX2 as interface.

I setup the Minilab, following instructions on the Arturia website and downloaded Analog lab and MIDI control center
and all was well: I can play the sounds and change parameters, monitoring goes automatically through the UX2.

The problems start when trying to use Reaper.

- When I try to enable the Minilab as a MIDI device, I get an error message saying that the MIDI input can't be opened.
- This message does not appear when Analog lab is not running, but I still don't get anything (no sound, no levels) in Reaper when arming a track for recording.

I looked at settings in MIDI control center and Analog lab, but couldn't identify the problem.
I also searched this forum for the same problem, but could not find anything similar.

That makes the Minilab and all the great sounds in Analog lab pretty much useless for recording.

I hope someone here can help me out! Would be greatly appreciated.

LBH

Re: Minilab mkII vs. Reaper
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2020, 01:32:07 pm »
Hi and welcoem to Arturia forums.

The problems start when trying to use Reaper.

- When I try to enable the Minilab as a MIDI device, I get an error message saying that the MIDI input can't be opened.
- This message does not appear when Analog lab is not running, but I still don't get anything (no sound, no levels) in Reaper when arming a track for recording.
Have you set up your controller to use for Reaper inside Reaper?

Do you open Analog Lab outside Reaper or inside Reaper as a plugin?

Do you know how to use Reaper?