March 28, 2024, 01:15:53 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: beatstep pro gate output & Make noise Sto VCO  (Read 921 times)

HKDS

beatstep pro gate output & Make noise Sto VCO
« on: March 03, 2020, 03:23:16 am »
Hello everyone. I am new to this blog so forgive me if I’m in the wrong spot. So the reason I’m here is because I’m new to the beatstep pro and I have an issue.

1) the sequencer 1  in the Beatstep pro has the pitch out connected to the STO 1 volt/ octave input. The STO output is connected to my mixer and monitors.
 Here I get the standard sub out as a typical oscillator turned on oscillating it’s wave.  How can I get the gate output on the beat step pro to silence the oscillator and only play when I lay down a sequence or use the pads to trigger .  At the moment I can’t turn off the oscillator. I must be doing something  wrong. Obviously.  The funny thing is I try with every of the 3 wave outputs and have the same issue a turned on oscillator not being turned off by a gate.  Thanks for correcting me and thanks for your help .  ??? ???

Have a productive day .
-Hkds

megamarkd

• Dead By Dawn
Re: beatstep pro gate output & Make noise Sto VCO
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2020, 06:44:51 am »
You need a VCA to control your STO dynamics.
Remember with modular synths, you have to create the ENTIRE signal path yourself.  So, for a traditional subtractive synth it's generally along the lines of: VCO->VCF->VCA->OUTPUT  Your VCO pitch is controlled with the pitch CV on the BSP, as you have currently happening, but it's completely unreigned without anything else in place.

I have a Make Noise Optomix, which is a dual VCA which utilises an optical gate circuit for a simple envelope, so you don't need anything else to get running with it.  Simply run the STO out into the top left input of the Optomix, the gate out on the BSP into the Strike input and the Out to your output module.