September 27, 2020, 07:56:38 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?  (Read 1377 times)

mikedesert

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?
« on: February 11, 2020, 07:27:32 pm »
Hi, I just bought a Drumbrute with the main reason to clock my Moog Grandmother's arp, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to do this. I saw a video online of it being done with the Drumbrute Impact (link below)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WI-jb9WTZxQ

Basically I'd like to be able to do this sort of stuff:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vh_5RDi1e4

Thanks for any help!!



mikedesert

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2020, 12:35:43 am »
Here's a more simple version of what I am trying to achieve

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Dp9t1IMBv8


mikedesert

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2020, 06:37:26 pm »
Update: tried using gate out on a eurorack module and the Moog arp did respond to that, so it's definitely a Drumbrute thing.
Any help?

mikedesert

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2020, 04:51:07 am »
OK, if anyone ever reads this...

Still can't get it to work, but a janky workaround for now was to go from the zap out into a Make Noise Maths module using it as an envelope follower, then send an EOR gate into the Grandmother. This made a skip sync I want...I don't want to have to do this every time, and the Maths envelops have to be just right... So still looking for a solution...

Ab Wilson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: Using individual out to clock synth Arpeggiator?
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2020, 06:40:24 pm »
In the youtube clip with the 909 and the Juno, what the guy doesn't tell you is that he's using the rim shot trigger out on the 909, not the audio. This is designed explicitly for triggering other instruments. The DrumBrute only has audio outs. You can't use these as triggers because a) the level is too low, and b) it's an AC audio signal rather than a DC voltage trigger. If you did amplify it to a suitable level to use as a trigger each hit would actually produce multiple triggers as the audio signal bounces around. You might get it to work but it's probably going to be flaky.

You can use the metronome output as a trigger, but you can't program a pattern into it. The easiest way to do what you want would be buy something like a beat step which has trigger outs, or a midi to cv converter, or a second hand TR606 which has trigger outs from its tom tracks.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines