April 24, 2024, 05:01:43 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: KeyStep sending to Kronos: Multiple Midi Channels  (Read 1477 times)

Victor Kennedy

• Composer, Songwriter, Engineer, Producer, All Round Dog's Body
  • Arturia Newbie - Longtime Composer - Producer
KeyStep sending to Kronos: Multiple Midi Channels
« on: February 02, 2020, 02:34:30 am »
Hello all, this is my first time in the forum. I just picked up a new KeyStep Black and have had fun working out the basics, as I'm not new to sequencing and arpeggiating, although I've predominantly done this from within a DAW, or older '80s workstations, even going back to Steinberg Pro 24 running on an Atari 1040 ST...such fond memories.

ATM I'm trying to figure out how to play two different Midi Channels within my Korg Kronos, as I want to use the KeyStep in a 'Live' band, soundscaping environment. At times I'd be standing at the Kronos itself, while at other times I would be standing front + center with a guitar on and a vocal mic.
I'd have the KeyStep connected to Kronos with a long USB / Midi cable, and I could play the Kronos from KeyStep, as well as send Arpeggios and Sequences from KeyStep to Kronos...WHILE ALSO playing to a different 'sound' within the Combi of Kronos. A 'Combi' in Kronos can consist of up to 16 different 'programs' or 'sounds' each being setup to receive on a dedicated Midi channel.

I've seen a post in the forum describing how to have a sequence playing in KeyStep and then by changing the Midi Ch in KeyStep, you can play along with the Arp / Seq using a different sound from the source.
I tried doing this with the Sequence in KeyStep playing a Kronos Combi sound on Midi Ch-1, and I had another sound in the Kronos Combi on Midi Ch-2, but when I changed the Midi Ch in KeyStep by holding Shift+Play/Pause button it just changed the sound that the Sequence was playing, instead of allowing me to play along with a different sound.