September 24, 2020, 12:35:04 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)  (Read 230 times)

creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« on: January 09, 2020, 10:03:20 pm »
Hello,

One of the most frustrating thing about Pigments (imho) is its workflow with presets using custom samples.

1) Personal folders don't refresh (is it a bug?)
2) When we move samples from a folder to another, Pigments notices that some samples are missing for specific presets (which is fine) but only suggests to "reimport" them (ie copy) to the former location, but not simply remap paths.

=> Please add the ability to:
- Save custom samples with presets
- OR relocate missing samples, which is one of the most basic features with softwares using samples

It will save a lot of time. Cause for the moment, we have to rebuild a preset from scratch if we want to use a preset that contains moved custom samples.

Thanks,

creal.

spacef

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • SpaceF-Devices
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2020, 09:19:01 am »
It seems to work with me. The samples must be in program data/arturia/ samples /classic samples (or wavetables).
When reloading pigment, i can see the new folders and samples without the need to import them through Pigments' interface.

A refresh function would allow to "not unload/reload" pigment before seeing the updated folders..

creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2020, 10:00:17 am »
Hi,

You're right. If we copy samples to "Program Data/Arturia/Samples/Pigments/User/Classic Samples", it works very well.

I think I understood how it works. Though it is not specified in the manual, when you import a personal sample/folder (from the import function), Pigments automatically copy the content to the "Classic Samples" folder.

In my humble opinion, the samples should remain at the original location and Pigments should better reacts when samples move from the original location to an external hard drive (for example). Nevertheless, the auto-copy we have now allows us to move samples where we want because they also are in "Classic Samples". Each time we want Pigments to refresh a personal folder (located say at "D:/My samples", we must copy the content once again to the "Classic Samples" folder. Not so handy and logical (or maybe I missed something), and this is the reason of my post here (I thought we could add samples to "D:/My samples" without the need to copy the samples to "Classic Samples" or reimport the folder from Pigments software).

So I'm still in the need for a save function like "save samples into the preset" and a better way to manage personal folders.

By the way, I don't know what's the point of the "Imported" folder located at "Program Data/Arturia/Samples/Pigments/User" (not the one in "Classic Samples") since when you import a sample/folder, it is copied to "Classic Samples".
« Last Edit: January 15, 2020, 10:02:51 am by creal »

spacef

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • SpaceF-Devices
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2020, 10:11:31 am »
Great that it works for you.

I agree you should be able to locate Pigments' library to another location, so it stops taking space of my C drive which is really full ;-) . I have a SSD  called "sampler" with all my Kontakt/Maschine stuff as well as other makers, and I would love to have arturia's sample folders on that drive too.


creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #4 on: January 15, 2020, 10:21:37 am »
Yes, as other companies, we should be able to install Arturia libraries (Pigments, CMI, Synclavier) to other locations, and allow us to just add paths to personal folders/samples.

For Pigments, the manual could precise that the "import" function is rather a "copy to Arturia system folder".

spacef

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • SpaceF-Devices
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2020, 08:54:39 pm »

---  relocate missing samples, which is one of the most basic features with softwares using samples

It will save a lot of time. Cause for the moment, we have to rebuild a preset from scratch if we want to use a preset that contains moved custom samples.

I agree, and there should be an option  window to let user choose in which directory Pigments looks for missing samples. When it finds a match it loads the sample. When it finds duplicates, then a list of file is presented to let the user choose which one to load.

Because loading manually each sample is very tedious and not necessary (imho). 

creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2020, 10:08:17 pm »
Yes, we should have an option to relocate samples by choosing a folder and let Pigments finds filenames on its own, as Kontakt works.

spacef

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 0
    • SpaceF-Devices
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2020, 04:47:45 pm »
For Pigments, the manual could precise that the "import" function is rather a "copy to Arturia system folder".

Did you find a v 2 manual ? on Arturia's website there is only v 1 , with nothing about the sampler part as it did not exist yet.

If you know where to find v 2 manual, I am interested.

creal

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: 1
Re: Relocate missing samples (instead of current reimport function)
« Reply #8 on: January 19, 2020, 05:05:55 pm »
For Pigments, the manual could precise that the "import" function is rather a "copy to Arturia system folder".

Did you find a v 2 manual ? on Arturia's website there is only v 1 , with nothing about the sampler part as it did not exist yet.

If you know where to find v 2 manual, I am interested.

There's two versions of Pigments 2 manual (in english) on the product page.

Here is the lastest: https://www.arturia.com/products/analog-classics/pigments/resources

For further reading, you can also reach the manual from PIgments' menu (then click "Help" and "User Manual"). It will redirect you here: : https://www.arturia.com/products/analog-classics/pigments/resources

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines