February 27, 2020, 12:18:10 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Midi In to USB  (Read 129 times)

jpaaso

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Midi In to USB
« on: January 11, 2020, 10:56:05 am »
Hi,

is it possible to record the Keystep's incoming Midi signal on Ableton Live (or any other program) thru the USB port? I spent a whole day trying to figure this out, searching all possible forums and reading manuals, but I can't get it to work. What I am basically trying to do is back up hardware sequences. I tried both SysEx dump and recording separate sequencer track, but nothing is coming in. Recording Keystep itself on a Midi channel works just fine.
« Last Edit: January 11, 2020, 12:07:48 pm by jpaaso »

CRGxxx

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • Karma: 0
Re: Midi In to USB
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2020, 05:11:03 pm »
HI.

I am also trying to send midi in data to my DAW over USB.

I am trying to setup my Roland HD1 drum kit to play sounds in Studio One.
I have midi going in from my drum kit but doesnt seem to be going THRU my Keystep to my DAW.

Should this be possible??
As I understand it is not possible on the Beatstep pro.... (I tried that too)
I will try my MicroFreak next....

I really dont want to buy something to sort this out.

Bests

Craig



gphantom

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
  • Karma: 2
Re: Midi In to USB
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2020, 07:04:59 pm »
First of all, on the keystep, set all switches (SYNC) to internal (All down)
In live 10 (or 9 I believe) - go to "Options" then "Preferences" and then "Link MIDI"
Make sure "Control Surface" is blank
                "Input" is selected to "Arturia Keystep 32"
                "Output" is selected to "Arturia Keystep 32"
On the bottom where is says [Midi ports]  [Track  Sync  Remote]  are all set to ON
The remainder should be set to OFF
 
In the AUDIO tab, make sure you have selected the correct sound card - You may have to play with these settings to get it right.

That should do it.

As for another DAW, you'll have to find the same settings or similar.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines