March 31, 2020, 08:08:55 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: MicroFreak over USB: why Arp only works when sync source is 'Int'?  (Read 153 times)

zootermac

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
It seems that Sequencer works in both sync source modes (Int or USB), but Arp only works when using MicroFreak's internal clock.

Is this correct?

Can someone explain technically?


Thanks

Trevor42

  • Apprentice
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroFreak over USB: why Arp only works when sync source is 'Int'?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2020, 12:38:35 am »
Arp works with ext midi clock also , you have to make sure you midi clock source is playing, if you use a DAW the DAW must be running in order for MF arp to work.
Juno 6, Poly 61, Casio CZ-1, Moog MF-105M, Digtech Talker, Microfreak, Ipad (AUM), Pianotech, Modular and Ableton.

zootermac

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
Re: MicroFreak over USB: why Arp only works when sync source is 'Int'?
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2020, 01:42:36 am »
You are right. It worked. I could've sworn it didn't before, but this stuff plays tricks on you in the beginning because of some other setting you forgot.

I'm finding the MicroFreak quite fussy with clock syncing and DAW / USB connection.

maybe it's just getting a better understanding of MIDI channels, clock syncing etc.


Q: Is it possible to use a DAW arpeggiator to send midi to the MicroFreak's midi out port? (I think it's not because you then create a loop as the output destination must be set to BOTH - for the Microfreak to receive MIDI over USB and then send it through its MIDi out port.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2020, 01:51:29 am by zootermac »

zootermac

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 1
Re: MicroFreak over USB: why Arp only works when sync source is 'Int'?
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2020, 04:03:04 am »
Update: I have definitely found the MF to be finnicky with midi over USB.

But, I'm going to assume it's my errors.

I've got it behaving the way I want it to.

For anyone else experiencing problems, make sure you have the right sync settings that you want, that the master clock is playing when you try to arpeggiate or sequence, and check that you have not created a midi loop with your hybrid setup.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2020, 06:19:24 am by zootermac »

Aken

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroFreak over USB: why Arp only works when sync source is 'Int'?
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2020, 01:09:20 pm »
Arp works with ext midi clock also , you have to make sure you midi clock source is playing, if you use a DAW the DAW must be running in order for MF arp to work.

It works but doesn't sync properly, as shown by the community: https://www.facebook.com/groups/ArturiaMicroFreak/permalink/476734989652691/

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines