July 08, 2020, 03:16:39 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output  (Read 327 times)

ease

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« on: December 20, 2019, 08:09:47 pm »
Hey all,

I'm looking to find a way to Output midi from Pigment Arp/Seq in Ableton Live10 ! Any clue?

Thanks,

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.257
  • Karma: 44
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2019, 08:43:06 pm »
Hi,

Qoute from the manual: "Pigments includes a MIDI Output so that any of the patterns generated by the Seq/Arp sections can be sent to control any other virtual instrument."

So you can pick Pigments 2 to be the input for another virtual instrument track. When you record, then the midi for that other track will be the rendered midi notes Pigments sequencer output.
That is what happens in my DAW Studio One 3 on Windows 10.

ease

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2019, 11:29:28 pm »
Thanks, I know how to do it with most other plugins with arp / seq midi, but with Pigment I'm not able to do it in LIve, it's why I ask specifically for ableton.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.257
  • Karma: 44
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2019, 11:54:35 pm »
I have an Ableton live lite 8. I can pick a allready loaded synths output as input for another in the "MIDI from" selector. Is this what you can't do? My Live lite is only 32 bit, so i can't test a 64 bit plug-in like Pigments.

ease

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2019, 04:49:28 pm »
I found why! The AU version on OSX doesn't work, only the VST one !

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.257
  • Karma: 44
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2019, 05:24:49 pm »
I found why! The AU version on OSX doesn't work, only the VST one !
Yes it's apparantly normal, that you shall use a VST for this, as AU units does'nt support direct MIDI out.

In this article - https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/articles/209068929-Using-AU-and-VST-plug-ins-on-Mac - you can read this: "AU plug-ins do not support a direct MIDI out. If you wish to route MIDI from a plug-in you need to use the VST version instead."

There is also a link for this article: https://help.ableton.com/hc/en-us/articles/209070189-How-to-access-the-MIDI-output-of-a-VST-plug-in - Where it tell the same.

Good that's solved.

ease

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2019, 06:35:33 pm »
Thanks for the links, I also sadly found that even with VSTs, V collection doesn't output midi from synth Arp / Seq!

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.257
  • Karma: 44
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2019, 07:09:08 pm »
Thanks for the links, I also sadly found that even with VSTs, V collection doesn't output midi from synth Arp / Seq!
Your welcome.

Yes only Arturias Pigments 2 output midi. It's not bugs, but how it is at the moment. Many VST's on the market does'nt output midi. I actually think it's more or at least as common a VST does'nt output midi.

doublestop

  • Apprentice
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #8 on: January 06, 2020, 11:24:50 am »
Hello,    I have the same issue on Windows 10  with Ableton Live 10! 

As far as I can see .. there is NO WAY to get Pigments 2  to export MIDI from the Arp/Sequencer!   and the manual does absolutely NO explanation of HOW to carry out  this extraordinary claim!    If I try to capture the Pigments2  MIDI into another MIDI track in Ableton  I do NOT get the sequence.. only whatever Keys I might have touched in real time to trigger the sequencer.   

Can I please  quote this again!!! FROM The Pigments Manual:   

Quote
9.1.10. MIDI Output

Pigments includes a MIDI Output so that any of the patterns generated by the Seq/Arp
sections can be sent to control any other virtual instrument. This can open up a lot of
interesting options for sound design or to breathe life into old virtual instruments.

According to other participants of this Thread,  VST's cannot copy MIDI output?   So than WHAT does the above section in the manual mean??? 


LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.257
  • Karma: 44
Re: Pigment Arp / Seq midi output
« Reply #9 on: January 06, 2020, 01:31:03 pm »
@doublestop

Have you read my first post in this thread? I describe how it works in my DAW.

The midi is'nt exported to your DAW - (the manual does'nt say export but output and send). But when you control another instrument on another track with midi output from Pigments 2, then the midi is being recorded on that track, when you record that track. The informations is send to that instrument track.

You shall set the second instrument track to be controlled by the output from your Pigments 2.

It look like you have'nt read the thread, as things was and is solved.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2020, 01:44:02 pm by LBH »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines