February 27, 2020, 12:02:02 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News:

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Encoder Position recall  (Read 183 times)

CtrlZ

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Encoder Position recall
« on: December 16, 2019, 08:26:02 pm »
Hi,
I bought the MKII I'm happy with it.

but I have question about the encoder position recall :
I have 2 VST synth on my live set up, with 8 macro for each.
I made 2 programs on my MiniLab, one for each. (different midi channel ...)

Now if I turn some knob on the 2nd program and go back to the 1st one, knob is not recalling the position of the 1st synth so they have to rejoin or jumping.

Is there something that I am doing wrong ?

Best
Zoltan

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.826
  • Karma: 50
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2019, 09:26:41 pm »
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

I don't have an Arturia controller. But the knobs on Minilab MKII is encoders. They can work in absolute and relative modes. You seem to wan't to work in relative mode. (I don't think Minilab MKII has a jump/ pickup feature for absolute mode.) The encoders functionality also depend on the software to control. Please read section "4.8.4. Mode Encoders" in minilab MKIIs manual.
The encoders them self will not change position.
I hope this will be a help for you.

CtrlZ

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #2 on: December 17, 2019, 07:05:12 pm »
Hi
thank you for your answer
need to give a try but if I remember well in relative mode the encoder is moving slowly  :-\
 

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.826
  • Karma: 50
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2019, 07:21:49 pm »
Hi,

Your welcome.

That's usually also a matter of how fast you turn the encoder.
You can also read that in the manual in the section i mentioned. I don't know how much more control you can have on this in Minilab MKII, if you have more at all.

CtrlZ

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #4 on: December 17, 2019, 07:33:53 pm »
So I made few test
the only midi compatible with ableton is :

Relative #1 on minicab and Relative (lin.BinOffset) in ableton
But the rotary speed is slow, need like 5/6 knob turn to go to 1 to 127

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.826
  • Karma: 50
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2019, 07:36:42 pm »
But the rotary speed is slow, need like 5/6 knob turn to go to 1 to 127
No matter how fast you turn the encoder?

EDIT: Are you sure you don't have options for this in the software? DIT END
« Last Edit: December 17, 2019, 07:46:39 pm by LBH »

CtrlZ

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #6 on: December 17, 2019, 08:03:17 pm »
the only option is slow / medium / fast
already in fast

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.826
  • Karma: 50
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #7 on: December 17, 2019, 08:08:40 pm »
Sometimes things work in reverse. So have you tried the "Slow" position?

6 full rotations to reach full range is rather annoying i agree.

CtrlZ

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #8 on: December 17, 2019, 08:13:57 pm »
I did
I think to send a message to contact support ...

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.826
  • Karma: 50
Re: Encoder Position recall
« Reply #9 on: December 17, 2019, 08:21:08 pm »
I think to send a message to contact support ...
Yes do that. Perhaps also to support for your software.
I'm interested in this subject.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.13 | SMF © 2016, Simple Machines