Arturia Forums

Software Instruments => Jup-8 V3 => Jup-8 V3 - Technical Issues => Topic started by: davemiles on May 20, 2016, 09:34:14 pm

Title: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 20, 2016, 09:34:14 pm
Hi,

Every time I try to load the Jup-8 V3 AAX in Pro Tools 12.5 it crashes.

Please find attached my crash log.

All the best,
Dave
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 21, 2016, 09:07:34 pm
Hi,

Every time I try to load the Jup-8 V3 AAX in Pro Tools 12.5 it crashes.

Please find attached my crash log.

All the best,
Dave
PT12.5 is a bug/crashfest to begin with so I wouldn't put this one on Arturia at the moment. All kinds of people are having issues over on the DUC.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 21, 2016, 10:38:00 pm
All my other plugins work fine, as well as the rest in the V Collection 5. I'm not a coder so I don't know whether Avid or Arturia is to blame but it's definitely an issue for me.

I haven't been having any problems with 12.5 so far other than this
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: Oli P on May 22, 2016, 12:24:33 am
Happens in 12.4 as well...after browsing a few presets I got a crash
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 22, 2016, 02:19:04 am
Dave and Oli:
Can either of you backtrack to Yosemite and see if that works?
Or do either of you have Blue Cat Patchwork or MB7-2 to see if the au or vst version of the Arturia stuff runs better? Or can either try VEPro to host the Arturia stuff?
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 22, 2016, 06:22:27 pm
I can't 'backtrack' to Yosemite, as I've been on El Capitan for many months. I have bluecat's patchwork, but I shouldn't have to resort to using this for running a plugin which there's an AAX version of. The bug just needs fixing in the AAX version.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 22, 2016, 07:45:53 pm
Ok, so weirdly enough I just tried using Pro Tools 10 and the plugin loads fine in there. I then tried opening this session in Pro Tools 12.5 and it loads this fine. However if I try to load another instance of the plugin it crashes.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: Oli P on May 22, 2016, 09:21:42 pm
Dave and Oli:
Can either of you backtrack to Yosemite and see if that works?
Or do either of you have Blue Cat Patchwork or MB7-2 to see if the au or vst version of the Arturia stuff runs better? Or can either try VEPro to host the Arturia stuff?

I'm still on 10.8.5 ...still have loads of sessions in PT10 that I need to be able to open.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 22, 2016, 10:49:57 pm
I can't 'backtrack' to Yosemite, as I've been on El Capitan for many months. I have bluecat's patchwork, but I shouldn't have to resort to using this for running a plugin which there's an AAX version of. The bug just needs fixing in the AAX version.
Doesn't matter how long you've been on ElCrapitan; if you still have a backup of your old system you should be able to go back. You did make a clone of your system before going to EC right? There are so many issues just between PT12.5 and EC it isn't even funny. Carbon Copy Cloner and an extra hard drive are cheap insurance against muck-ups.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 22, 2016, 10:52:11 pm
Ok, so weirdly enough I just tried using Pro Tools 10 and the plugin loads fine in there. I then tried opening this session in Pro Tools 12.5 and it loads this fine. However if I try to load another instance of the plugin it crashes.
How do you have PT10 running on EC unless you did the EC 'upgrade' installing it right over whatever OSX version you had when you installed PT. Doing that kind of upgrade inevitably leads to issues. Should always do a clean install and do a clone BEFORE mucking about with new OSX versions.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 23, 2016, 11:24:12 am
Jack, I'm very thorough with backups and clones etc but I have no desire to go back to Yosemite as otherwise El Capitan is working fine for me. All my plugins work fine in El Capitan and 12.5 apart from Jup 8 V3 this is something that Arturia need to fix.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: ben arturia on May 25, 2016, 08:57:23 am
Hi all,
I've been testing with ProTools 12.5 on 10.11.
I really don't understand what's happening on your system...
Could you please try to uninstall the AAX file in :
Library/ApplicationSupport/Avid/Audio/Plugins/Arturia/Jup-8 V3.aaxplugin
Then reinstall the Jup-8 V3.
Best
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 25, 2016, 09:15:37 am
Hi Ben,

I've just been through and done that and unfortunately it's still crashing when I try and load an instance of the plugin.

All the best,
Dave
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: ben arturia on May 25, 2016, 11:25:19 am
Could you please try to trash the file called "InstalledAAXPlugins" located at ~/Library/Preferences/Avid/Pro Tools.

In order to go this library simply :
- in finder click on Go then Go to folder
- copy paste the path with the " ~ "
- click Go
=>Delete "InstalledAAXPlugins" file and restart ProTools.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 25, 2016, 11:45:19 am
Hi Ben,

Just tried that and it's still crashing unfortunately.

All the best,
Dave
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: ben arturia on May 25, 2016, 11:55:19 am
Where did you find the first crash log you've posted ?
Do you have another type of crash file ?
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 25, 2016, 12:23:36 pm
Hi Ben it's the one generated by Pro Tools, that's the only one I have.

Please see the attached video.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: ben arturia on May 25, 2016, 01:26:46 pm
Thanks for the video that's nice.
With ProTools crashes we can't do anything.
Could you please try to contact Avid support about your issue ?
I guess they will be able to check the crash log and tell you more about it.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 25, 2016, 02:46:33 pm
Hi Ben,

Are you sure it's not a problem with the plugin coding rather than something on Avid's end? I'm going to get a friend who also owns the plugin to try loading it on his Pro Tools setup and see if it crashes as well.

All the best,
Dave
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 25, 2016, 08:06:56 pm
Hi Ben,

Are you sure it's not a problem with the plugin coding rather than something on Avid's end? I'm going to get a friend who also owns the plugin to try loading it on his Pro Tools setup and see if it crashes as well.

All the best,
Dave
I stopped my system at PT11.3.3 but Jup8 loads up just fine there running OSX 10.9.5. Little consolation I know though.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 26, 2016, 12:11:09 pm
Eduoard at Arturia responded to my support ticket I'd created earlier this week suggesting I reset the Pro Tools prefs, this seems to have sorted the problem for the moment! Plugin loads fine now.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 26, 2016, 01:00:07 pm
Eduoard at Arturia responded to my support ticket I'd created earlier this week suggesting I reset the Pro Tools prefs, this seems to have sorted the problem for the moment! Plugin loads fine now.

All the best,
Dave
Interesting that that seems to have solved your issue for now. If you don't know about it Pete Gates who regularly posts over on the DUC has a free utility that will do various things with prefs and databases in PT; stuff like backing certain things up and deleting things you want deleted like prefs, databases, etc. The link is in his sig file.
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: davemiles on May 26, 2016, 01:16:52 pm
Interesting that that seems to have solved your issue for now. If you don't know about it Pete Gates who regularly posts over on the DUC has a free utility that will do various things with prefs and databases in PT; stuff like backing certain things up and deleting things you want deleted like prefs, databases, etc. The link is in his sig file.

Yeah that's the utility I used!
Title: Re: Jup-8 V3 AAX Crashes on Load
Post by: jackn2mpu on May 26, 2016, 01:32:42 pm
Interesting that that seems to have solved your issue for now. If you don't know about it Pete Gates who regularly posts over on the DUC has a free utility that will do various things with prefs and databases in PT; stuff like backing certain things up and deleting things you want deleted like prefs, databases, etc. The link is in his sig file.

Yeah that's the utility I used!
Cool. There are people out there that don't know this exists and do the deletions manually. And for Windows users there's a similar one also on the DUC by I believe hobodom and it's called Trasher.