Arturia Forums

VCollection 4 / Legacy versions => Oberheim SEM V => Oberheim SEM V Technical Issues => Topic started by: create on September 18, 2012, 11:56:58 pm

Title: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 18, 2012, 11:56:58 pm
Hi

I bought and downloaded SEM V but have no joy getting the instrument to appear in Cubase SE3

I can get the standalone version working but not with Cubase.

Any help would be much appreciated

Thanks

Steve
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 19, 2012, 08:26:04 am
Hi,
did you install the VST 2 or VST 3 version or both?
Did you install 32 bit or 64 bit version or both (where)?
Is it listed in Plug-in Information window?

Kevin
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 03:48:01 pm
Hi Kevin

I feel i've tried downloading most of the files in various combinations but haven't had any joy launching SEM V within Cubase.

Could you talk me through which files i should download?
I'm using Windows 7

Cheers

Steve
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 19, 2012, 03:59:54 pm
I advise you to install only VST3 or only VST2 and only 32 bit if you are running cubase in 32 bit or only 64 bit if you are running cubase in 64 bits.
I don't know if you already did it but don't forget to install the latest version from here (http://www.arturia.com/evolution/en/downloads/updates.html).
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 05:26:10 pm
Kevin

I've downloaded the update and again tried what you suggested installing the files to the
VST plugin folder which is within Cubase SE but sadly no joy at the moment.

Steve
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 19, 2012, 05:32:25 pm
Hi Steve,
Is it listed in the Plugin information window?
Are you running cubase in 32 or 64 bit?

Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 05:44:16 pm
Hi Kevin

Can't see it in the plugin window.

How do i tell if Cubase is in 32 bit or 64 bit mode?

Thanks

Steve
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 19, 2012, 05:48:44 pm
First you have to check if Windows is 32 or 64 bit.
If Windows is 32 bit you know that Cubase is 32 bit :).

Is Windows is 64 bit.
You can look in the Windows Task Manager, in the Processes tab.
If it is in 32 bit you should see *32 at the end of the process name.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 05:54:06 pm
Just checked and Windows is running in 64 bit mode! :)
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 19, 2012, 05:56:08 pm
So Cubase does?
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 06:20:52 pm
just checked processes and there in no metion of 32 with Cubase so yes it's running 64 bit.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 19, 2012, 06:58:47 pm
Installed vst 3 (64bit) into my vst plugin folder and launched Cubase.

No sign of the SEM in plug in folder.

I must be doing something wrong Kevin! :(

Any ideas?  :)
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 20, 2012, 10:50:26 am
I am not sure your version of Cubase supports vst3 and even 64 bit.
Can you send me a screenshot your about panel of cubase?
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 20, 2012, 11:23:37 am
It says

Cubase SE Version 3.0.2 Build 643 Aug 10 2005

Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 20, 2012, 11:40:49 am
In the plug in info table it does show the Oberheim but it's highlighted in brown.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 20, 2012, 01:23:10 pm
can you send a screenshot?
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 20, 2012, 03:40:21 pm
Here you go.....
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 20, 2012, 04:35:19 pm
sorry I forgot to precise, I want a screenshot of the plugin information window.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 20, 2012, 04:56:25 pm
Here you go
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 20, 2012, 05:23:43 pm
What are the specs of your computer (CPU, RAM...)?
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 20, 2012, 05:57:01 pm
AMD Turiton II Dual Core Mobile M500 2.20 Ghz
3GB RAM
64 BIT
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 21, 2012, 08:46:44 am
Is it working in standalone?
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 21, 2012, 09:53:53 am
Yes standalone is fine.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 21, 2012, 12:59:17 pm
I think we have to find a Cubase SE 3 installer to check if there are no compatibility issue with it.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 21, 2012, 01:15:17 pm
Ok let me know how you get on.

Thanks

Steve
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 21, 2012, 01:35:54 pm
TBH I am not even sure that Cubase SE 3 is supporting VST 2.4.
I contacted Steinberg to have some details.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on September 21, 2012, 02:38:39 pm
I've got some VST's listed in the plug in window as 2.4
Wait to hear what Steinberg say! :)
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: Kevin on September 27, 2012, 09:29:25 am
Hi,
I can not get any version from Steinberg. I asked them to try to reproduce the issue. Currently wait for their answer.
Title: Re: SEM V Not Working With Cubase SE3
Post by: create on October 01, 2012, 03:31:59 pm
Thanks for thr update Kevin.