Arturia Forums

VCollection 4 / Legacy versions => Oberheim SEM V => Oberheim SEM V Technical Issues => Topic started by: JDoo on August 02, 2012, 04:21:15 am

Title: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 02, 2012, 04:21:15 am
Several of my Logic Pro songs have been rendered unusable lately due to a bug coming up when I open them.  In Logic Pro 9.1.7 opening up a song with the SEM included, sometimes crashes Logic with this error:

Reading Plug-ins for Song --
gets to Oberheim SEM -- then Error:

Error: read_size == bytesize
file: /jenkins/root/workspace/Oberheim_SEM_Mac_Release/Oberheim_SEM/project/Mac/../../../WrapperLib/src/VST3/BaseProcessor.cpp
line: 678

Other songs, open fine.  Tried re-launching Logic in 32 bit mode..  same error. 

Mac OS 10.8
2.7 GHz Intel Core i5
Memory  8 GB

-------------
I opened a trouble ticket, but have not heard back from Arturia yet.  Has anyone run into anything similar?  I see that there is a sw update for other Arturia instruments .. but no patch for the SEM.  Am nervous about opening up any existing Logic files until I get word..  A work around would be nice.. but at this point, once the file is corrupted with this error - logic closes and won't open the song.   :-\
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: lyford on August 02, 2012, 05:43:17 am
I haven't had the particular issue you have had, but you can try starting logic in diagnostic mode and see if SEM passes AU validation...

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2047

"By holding down modifier keys while you open the application, you can put Logic Pro or Logic Express into one of several troubleshooting modes. To do this, go to your Applications folder, double-click the Logic icon, then hold down the respective modifier key(s) from the table below until a dialog appears or Logic is fully loaded."
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Kevin on August 02, 2012, 09:08:50 am
Hi,
this problem has been reported by another user. Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce it.
Can you give me your support ticket number so we will be able to discuss it?

Kevin
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 02, 2012, 06:13:16 pm
Hi,
this problem has been reported by another user. Unfortunately we are not able to reproduce it.
Can you give me your support ticket number so we will be able to discuss it?

Kevin

Hi Kevin

Thanks.  My ticket # is 111745.  I pasted the error log into the ticket, and would be happy to work through this with your support team.

Cheers -

Joe
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 02, 2012, 07:57:42 pm
I haven't had the particular issue you have had, but you can try starting logic in diagnostic mode and see if SEM passes AU validation...

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2047

"By holding down modifier keys while you open the application, you can put Logic Pro or Logic Express into one of several troubleshooting modes. To do this, go to your Applications folder, double-click the Logic icon, then hold down the respective modifier key(s) from the table below until a dialog appears or Logic is fully loaded."


Thanks for this Lyford.  I had checked the AUs versions, etc via the Preferences->Audio Units Manager.. but it only said that the SEM had passed validation.  Interestingly though -- the SEM shows an instrument version of 1.1.1 - even though i am running the 1.1.3 bundle.  The AU that pops up shows version 1.1.3.  I am not certain that makes any difference, but it's something that might make sense for the Arturia developers to verify.

j
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Waza on August 02, 2012, 11:03:08 pm
have you tried unistalling SEM to see if your projects load up?
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 02, 2012, 11:26:24 pm
have you tried unistalling SEM to see if your projects load up?
Hi Waza

Thanks for the suggestion.  I moved the SEM out of the directories and reloaded Logic.. still no joy for the couple of projects.  Other projects -- no problems.  It's an odd error.
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Waza on August 03, 2012, 12:45:10 am
sounds very odd indeed. Maybe there is a conflict with an Fx you've got on that channel that it does not like when loading. It's a long shot though.
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: FOXdigital on August 14, 2012, 09:09:01 pm
Have the same problem. Can't you go back to 1.1.0 and see if the presets at least load?
Thanx

have used version 1.1.0 with Studio One 2.0.6 and have updated to version 1.1.3, which resulted in a error, pic is attached to this post:

Error: read_size ==bytesize file: /jenkins/root/workspace/Oberheim_SEM_Mac_Release/Oberheim_SEM/project/Mac/../../../WrapperLib/src/VST3/BaseProcessor.cppline: 693

After going back to 1.1.0 i can start songs again without getting the above message, but it won't load my presets. I have lots of songs with more than one Oberheim track, which are totally useless now, no matter what i do.   Can someone help, please?


Working with MacBook Pro QuadCore, SSD, 8GB RAM and 10.6.8
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 14, 2012, 10:02:47 pm
Update -

I was able to get the songs back.  It was a strange issue, and I think was related to a new template I had created with the Spark and Multi-outputs.  Anyway - I corrected it by..
1. Disabled Audio drivers under Logics audio preferences
2. Opened the project that had been blowing up. (with the audio disabled - it opens fine)
3. Removed the SEM from the channel strip that was referncing it.
4. Closed Logic (maybe not necessary -- but I was being paranoid about cache/etc..)
5. Re-opened Logic and Enabled Audio drivers under the Logics audio preferences
6. Opened my project, added back in the SEM.. 
Everything working now.  Like I said, I think it was a funky setting in a template that I had been playing with that hammered the project.  So far, (and I have opened / closed this file a few times) - knock wood . . . everything is back working again
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: lyford on August 14, 2012, 11:51:56 pm
Glad to hear you got it working again - I was worried it was a lurking bug that would eventually get me...  ;D
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 15, 2012, 06:01:15 am
 :)  I'm glad too Lyford.  Was a weird one.  Glad it seems to be fixed now though...
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Adrien on August 20, 2012, 10:38:07 am
HI

We need you !
We would like you to help us to solve this issue as we have difficulties to reproduce it (and so to fix it) :

Please when sending the mail write :
readsize == bytesize case 113142

thank you for your help
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 20, 2012, 11:00:29 pm
Hi Adrien -

As noted above - my case # was 111745.  I sent all my project files to support@arturia.com care of Kevin.  Also, as I mentioned ... I have since corrected the problem and closed this ticket on - line.  I think I have deleted the offending template - but will look, and send it if I can find it.  Kevin has the project file and any included supporting files though...

Cheers

joe
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: ccrmusic on August 26, 2012, 07:26:15 pm
I've had the exact same error message with a Logic Pro session of mine using the SEM. JDoo's way of disabling the audio and opening the affected session worked great. Thanks a lot!!
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: JDoo on August 27, 2012, 03:28:00 am
I've had the exact same error message with a Logic Pro session of mine using the SEM. JDoo's way of disabling the audio and opening the affected session worked great. Thanks a lot!!
Wish I could take credit for the fix.   :D   It actually came from a post by David Nahmani on a different forum.

Oddly - I had a near identical issue with the Wurlitzer AU in MainStage. I was on stage in the middle of a set, and didn't have time to capture a screenshot (had to reboot MainStage to get my sounds back).  Anyway - not sure the precise error, but it looked similar - and was referencing the Wurlitzer V AU.  After restarting MainStage, I didnt have any other issues..
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: qube123 on September 19, 2012, 09:10:32 am
Having the same issue, it doesn't happen all the time but seems to affect the saved project, if I go back to an earlier save then it'll load.

32-bit and 64-bit operation have the same issue.

Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: pkdick on October 08, 2012, 07:55:09 pm
im also getting this when using spark, happens all the time when opening a project with spark and sem, tried Jdoos fix, worked once, when i went to open the project the next day after closing down computer I got the error again
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: qube123 on November 06, 2012, 11:38:30 pm
Any word from Arturia on this error. get it all the time, on both my 10.6.8 and 10.8.2 machines under Logic 9.1.8 in 32 and 64 bit modes. It's sufficiently frequent that I've had to write this plugin off until there's a fix, which is a shame as it does sound lovely.
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Marcus Gorstein on November 11, 2012, 02:44:47 am
Same here. It even crashed a Logic song I was working on and gave a

file: /jenkins/root/workspace/Oberheim_SEM_Mac_Release/Oberheim_SEM/project/Mac/../../../AudioFramework/ArturiaLibAudioV2/src/Software/Event.cpp
line: 81

I mailed tech support and hope to hear from them. Until then, I will also stop working with it.
Darn...
Take care,
Marcus
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Kevin on November 12, 2012, 09:33:47 am
Hi all,
sorry for not getting back to you sooner on this problem.
We may have found a solution, we will get back to you on this ASAP.

Kevin
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: pkdick on December 01, 2012, 09:31:29 pm
this is also junk for me until there is a fix
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Dav1d on January 23, 2013, 09:51:40 am
Hi db3,

This issue may be solved in the newer version:
--> http://www.arturia.com/downloads/obsemv/beta/Oberheim%20SEM%20V_115_rc5.dmg

Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: georgelegeriii on January 25, 2013, 03:50:08 am
Having the exact same problem, sent a crash report and also sent an email with the current bad Logic Pro song file.

George
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Adrien on January 29, 2013, 11:31:27 am
Hi did you testedthis with the 1.1.5 ?

This issue may be solved in the newer version:
--> http://www.arturia.com/downloads/obsemv/beta/Oberheim%20SEM%20V_115_rc5.dmg

Best
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: badcatblackcat on January 29, 2013, 04:13:11 pm
Just had this exact problem.  Had a backup of the effected song so I just deleted the versions with the problem and removed the Oberheim from the backup copy.  Worrisome.
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Adrien on January 29, 2013, 05:04:15 pm
Hi

You mean you had this problem with the 1.1.5 or You had the read size byte size issue ?
If you have a backup of your project, that is great, very often restoring a previous version of your project can help.
However, if you want to solve this issue, you should try 1.1.5 if you did not.

best
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: ponynop on March 19, 2013, 01:19:44 pm
I had this problem with the Oberheim SEM. Updated to 1.1.5 but the error still comes up. With this version I can now at least get past the error message and open the project but it has made my whole DAW unstable and finding it constantly crashing when using the Oberheim. Shame as it's a beautiful VSynth

Using Cubase 6.02 on Mac OSX 10.5.8
Title: Re: SEM AU Blowing up Old Logic Pro Songs...
Post by: Adrien on March 19, 2013, 02:15:51 pm
Hi

The error message can not make your DAW unstable, basically you probably see "read_size==4" or something like that.
It happens because in the past the preset had been corrupted by the other bug.

Don't worry, you just ignore that, the only problem that this reveals is that some parameter value might be different from what you saved.
It will not make the plug unstable and even less the DAW. it is annoying just because it says that some data might be different from what you saved in the first place.

I'm sorry about this inconvenience.

Now if you have problems in your DAW, this must be for another reason.
BTW, cubase 6 does not support 10.5 and there is also a 6.0.7 update