Arturia Forums

Hybrid Synth => MiniLab => MiniLab Technical Issues => Topic started by: rnqqnr1910 on July 18, 2013, 06:24:19 am

Title: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: rnqqnr1910 on July 18, 2013, 06:24:19 am
I am having trouble mapping the controller to Live 9 on a mac. It's just that i can't find the "user remote scripts" folder that is described on the .pdf file that comes with the script, so i put the Arturia Minilab folder in the MIDI remote scripts folder where all the other controller mappings are usually put. (Live9/Contents/App-resources/MIDI remote scripts). But the minilab script is just a .txt file, and the rest of the controller mappings are all .pyc files, so i was wondering how do i get the pads and knobs to control the given controls without having to manually map each control?
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: Dav1d on July 23, 2013, 11:27:55 am
Depending of your OS, on 10.7, 10.8:
1/ Open Finder
2/ Click on the Go option in the tool bar
3/ Press "Alt" button of your Keyboard, this add a "Library" entry to menu
4/ Select "Library" entry in menu
5/ Open Preferences / Ableton / Live <your version> / User Remote Scripts /
6/ Put the folder inside of it

OSX 10.6
1/ Open Finder
2/ Select the drive
3/ select User / <your user>
4/ select "Library" / Preferences / Ableton / Live <your version> / user remote script /
5/ Put the folder inside of it

 :)
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on July 27, 2013, 07:59:12 pm
Depending of your OS, but most of the time:
1/ Open Finder
2/ Select the drive
3/ select User / <your user>
4/ Click on the Go option in the tool bar
5/ Press "Alt" button of your Keyboard
6/ select "Library" / Preferences / Ableton / Live <your version> / user remote script /
7/ Put the folder inside of it
 :)

OMG I must have tried this a hundred times, and i just finally found it. I'm going back to the store tomorrow morning to get a new MiniLab. Hopefully it works. Thanks, David.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on July 28, 2013, 10:07:38 pm
Depending of your OS, but most of the time:
1/ Open Finder
2/ Select the drive
3/ select User / <your user>
4/ Click on the Go option in the tool bar
5/ Press "Alt" button of your Keyboard
6/ select "Library" / Preferences / Ableton / Live <your version> / user remote script /
7/ Put the folder inside of it
 :)

Hello David,

I just purchased the MiniLab. Two things : In this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WmQfSiU8TAc, the tracks highlight when you change channel. See at 0:50 into the video. I cannot have it do that. Also, as i read on this forum, it's true that the knobs go wild a little, and it's hard to control parameters smoothly using the encoders on the controller.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: Dav1d on July 31, 2013, 01:59:42 pm
Hi SuperGirl36,

Here is my explanation:
1/ Open Ableton
2/ Open 3 instruments on 3 different MIDI tracks.
3/ Switch to session view
4/ Open the I/O on the right back of your Ableton screen
5/ Inside the "MIDI from" drop down list:
     A. Select Minilab or All ins
     B. On track 1, select Channel 1 (ch.1)
     C. On track 2, select Channel 2 (ch.2)
     D. On track 3, select Channel 3 (ch.3)
6/ Click on the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
7/ Assignment from MIDI:
     A. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C key of your MiniLab
     B. Select the title of the 2nd track, and click the C# key of your MiniLab
     C. Select the title of the 3rd track, and click the D key of your MiniLab
8/ Unselect the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
9/ Test it:
     A. Old the Shift button + Press C key
     B. Press C Key again
     C. Old the Shift button + Press C# key
     D. Press C# Key again

Let me know if this solve the problem
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 03, 2013, 02:23:01 am
Hi SuperGirl36,

Here is my explanation:
1/ Open Ableton
2/ Open 3 instruments on 3 different MIDI tracks.
3/ Switch to session view
4/ Open the I/O on the right back of your Ableton screen
5/ Inside the "MIDI from" drop down list:
     A. Select Minilab or All ins
     B. On track 1, select Channel 1 (ch.1)
     C. On track 2, select Channel 2 (ch.2)
     D. On track 3, select Channel 3 (ch.3)
6/ Click on the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
7/ Assignment from MIDI:
     A. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C key of your MiniLab
     B. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C# key of your MiniLab
     C. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the D key of your MiniLab
8/ Unselect the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
9/ Test it:
     A. Old the Shift button + Press C key
     B. Press C Key again
     C. Old the Shift button + Press C# key
     D. Press C# Key again

Let me know if this solve the problem

No, it doesn't work. In point 7, i cannot assign 4 keys to the same first track. Sorry but i think there's something wrong in what you wrote. And it should be way easier - like shown in the video.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 03, 2013, 05:08:42 pm
Hi SuperGirl36,

Here is my explanation:
1/ Open Ableton
2/ Open 3 instruments on 3 different MIDI tracks.
3/ Switch to session view
4/ Open the I/O on the right back of your Ableton screen
5/ Inside the "MIDI from" drop down list:
     A. Select Minilab or All ins
     B. On track 1, select Channel 1 (ch.1)
     C. On track 2, select Channel 2 (ch.2)
     D. On track 3, select Channel 3 (ch.3)
6/ Click on the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
7/ Assignment from MIDI:
     A. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C key of your MiniLab
     B. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C# key of your MiniLab
     C. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the D key of your MiniLab
8/ Unselect the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
9/ Test it:
     A. Old the Shift button + Press C key
     B. Press C Key again
     C. Old the Shift button + Press C# key
     D. Press C# Key again

Let me know if this solve the problem

Hey David, one detail i noticed related to point 9. In the video i'm referring to, Mike doesn't have to press shift+c then c. He only presses shift+c, then shift+c#, then shift+d, etc. Why not ask him ? I also noticed he set things up with Monitor In. Why ? Thanks.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 04, 2013, 02:14:22 am
Hi SuperGirl36,

Here is my explanation:
1/ Open Ableton
2/ Open 3 instruments on 3 different MIDI tracks.
3/ Switch to session view
4/ Open the I/O on the right back of your Ableton screen
5/ Inside the "MIDI from" drop down list:
     A. Select Minilab or All ins
     B. On track 1, select Channel 1 (ch.1)
     C. On track 2, select Channel 2 (ch.2)
     D. On track 3, select Channel 3 (ch.3)
6/ Click on the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
7/ Assignment from MIDI:
     A. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C key of your MiniLab
     B. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the C# key of your MiniLab
     C. Select the title of the 1rst track, and click the D key of your MiniLab
8/ Unselect the "MIDI" assignment button on the top right of your Ableton Screen
9/ Test it:
     A. Old the Shift button + Press C key
     B. Press C Key again
     C. Old the Shift button + Press C# key
     D. Press C# Key again

Let me know if this solve the problem

Ok, here's what i found : Point 7 is impossible because Ableton overwrites point A when you do point B.

Instead click midi, then select title of track 1 then press C ; title of track 2 then press C#, title of track 3 then press D, etc. The way the Minilab works after is as follows : to select track 2, press shift + C, then press C, then press the key associated with the track you want to select, here track 2 so C# (here you'll see the plugin of track 2 appear), finally press shift + the key associated with the track just selected, here track 2 so shift + C#.
It's quite complicated, but easy to remember and quickly done once you understand. THIS IS NOT A JOKE. Lol !!! That's how i got it working. David, tell me what you think !!!
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 04, 2013, 02:17:24 am
This is ridiculously complicated. Now i have to solve the knob problem.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 04, 2013, 04:35:14 pm
Hello David,

I'm having trouble controlling third party plugins like V-Collection plugins inside Ableton Live. When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves. Also, if i try to change the preset to 1 or 3-8, the Minilab changes to channel 1 (?).

Help !

PS Everything works fine with multiple instances of Analog Lab.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 05, 2013, 09:24:50 pm
Hello David,

I'm having trouble controlling third party plugins like V-Collection plugins inside Ableton Live. When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves. Also, if i try to change the preset to 1 or 3-8, the Minilab changes to channel 1 (?).

Help !

PS Everything works fine with multiple instances of Analog Lab.

Hello again David,

I just went to the store to try other Minilabs to see if they had the same problems stated above. Well they do ! Firmware was updated in the store.

Waiting for reply.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 06, 2013, 01:29:35 am
Something tells me that there's a problem with the default settings in the MiniLab midi control centre. Only my channel 1 works: in Live, the script works only for channel 1, wether i'm using Analog Lab or a third-party plugin. And i'm not sure how to set it up. I'd have to make tests, but i lack knowledge of how it works... Help !
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 07, 2013, 09:00:49 pm
No one has answered me for seven days !!! Come on !
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 08, 2013, 07:49:29 pm
Damn, please answer !!!!
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: rbocquier on August 09, 2013, 11:07:34 am
Hi Supergirl36,

David is on vacation for two weeks, I am Robert and I will try to answer your questions.
Please take note that this forum is provided as a benefice for our users, the preferred way to get timely answer is to use our support ticketing system here http://www.arturia.com/evolution/en/support/faq.html

Quote
When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves.
Screen update is not active while MIDI map mode is on (where control is purple), this is a Live peculiarity.

Quote
Also, if i try to change the preset to 1 or 3-8, the Minilab changes to channel 1 (?).
This is normal behavior: channel is part of the preset, so if you change preset, then you change channel.
As all of Minilab presets are set to channel 1 as default, changing preset goes back to channel 1
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 09, 2013, 12:37:51 pm

Quote
When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves.
Screen update is not active while MIDI map mode is on (where control is purple), this is a Live peculiarity.

Hello Robert,

Thanks for answering.
In the Arturia video that i quoted above, we can see that Live devices and third party plugins can be either mapped or "configured". And we see the knobs turn on the screen as the person turns the knobs on the MiniLab. I think i've seen this in more than one MiniLab video.
I think you misunderstood or maybe i didn't explain myself properly. First i use the Configure button (as shown in the MiniLab Ableton tutorial video) to add parameters to the device, then i turn it off. Not Midi map. And i cannot see the knobs turn as i turn them on the MIniLab, except on channel 1 where it works fine. I do not use the Midi map mode. Even if i would, i would turn it off before trying.
Help !
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 09, 2013, 12:54:55 pm

Quote
When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves.
Screen update is not active while MIDI map mode is on (where control is purple), this is a Live peculiarity.

Please see this video at 3:06 : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgRleI80lME

Glenn Darcy explains that the purple hand (not Midi map mode) means the MiniLab is controlling the device. This works for me only on channel 1.
I've sent emails to tech support without answer.
Thanks.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 09, 2013, 12:56:42 pm
Quote
When the purple hand is on the device, the knobs alter the sound, but on my screen nothing moves.
Screen update is not active while MIDI map mode is on (where control is purple), this is a Live peculiarity.

Please see this video at 3:06 : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HgRleI80lME

Glenn Darcy explains that the purple hand (not Midi map mode) means the MiniLab is controlling the device. This works for me only on channel 1. As shown i use the Configure button, not Midi map mode.
I've sent emails to tech support without answer.
Thanks.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: rbocquier on August 09, 2013, 06:45:40 pm
I see what you mean now.

I've checked with the CS-80, it's working ok: knob actions can be heard and seen.
What plugin are you using?
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 09, 2013, 08:20:48 pm
Only V-Collection plugins. But i don't think it's a matter of which plugin. It's awkward that's it's working only in the first channel... Thanks, Robert.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: rbocquier on August 12, 2013, 06:37:06 pm
The script is by design made for channel #1 only, I don't think it's possible to make it otherwise.
I know there is another video from us that relies on MIDI channel but actually with Live you don't need to change the transmitted MIDI channel.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 12, 2013, 06:47:23 pm
The script is by design made for channel #1 only, I don't think it's possible to make it otherwise.
I know there is another video from us that relies on MIDI channel but actually with Live you don't need to change the transmitted MIDI channel.

Thanks for your answer, Robert. But what if i have multiple tracks, if i'm playing one of them then another, and i want to tweak the sound ? If i want to play different plugins one after another, i have to put them on different channels, no ? Thanks.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 14, 2013, 09:37:55 pm
No answer for third day. Will someone from Arturia please answer ? I wrote a few emails to tech support, and the just close the claims without answering.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: Rob Roff on August 17, 2013, 01:27:05 am
The script is by design made for channel #1 only, I don't think it's possible to make it otherwise.
I know there is another video from us that relies on MIDI channel but actually with Live you don't need to change the transmitted MIDI channel.

Thanks for your answer, Robert. But what if i have multiple tracks, if i'm playing one of them then another, and i want to tweak the sound ? If i want to play different plugins one after another, i have to put them on different channels, no ? Thanks.

When you are using a remote control script, such as the one Arturia provides for Ableton, you do not need to use different midi channels, no. The whole point of it is that it is dynamic. You are controlling the selected device with your hardware, using the same knobs. There is no reason to use a different midi channel unless you have a massive manual mapping template and need more than the 128 offered for a single channel. But when using a remote controller script like this one, it's only going to use one channel because those few knobs control any selected device, no matter what track it's on. Just keep everything on channel 1.
Title: Re: Mapping for Ableton Live
Post by: supergirl36 on August 17, 2013, 02:34:18 am
Thanks, Rob. Cheers.