Arturia Forums

Software Instruments => B-3 V2 => B-3 V2 - Technical Issues => Topic started by: kensmithh95 on February 05, 2020, 11:40:45 pm

Title: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: kensmithh95 on February 05, 2020, 11:40:45 pm
Hi up there guys! I recently acquired 2 new keyboard controllers. One is M-Audio 88 Key and the other one is a Midiplus BK49-2. I specifically bought the 49 keys one to be used with my Arturia B3 VST. I installed the Arturia one and everything worked perfect with the 88 one and connected the 49 controller which works fine with all the VSTīs. However, It would not allow me assign the keyboard for each controller. I want the 49 to control one of the Organ Keyboards and the 88 one to control another different one. However, both controllers would play on the same organ keyboard. I used the Multi option and assigned two different channels and did not work at all. Also, checked on the controllers and seems like both of them are coming through the same MIDI port which is the root cause of all of this. Once I get into the Audio midi Setup ( I  currently use a Macbook Air) my laptop would not allow me to change the port for each controller so I am kinda sad, and not sure what to do in order to resolve this. Any help coming from you guys would be extremely appreciated!
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: LBH on February 06, 2020, 12:27:28 am
Hi and welcome to Arturia forums.

In my DAW it's possible to have a single plugin instance on multiple tracks. Then select different midi channels for each track to send to the single B3v2 instance. This way i in example can have 3 tracks that's set to the 3 manuals midi channel settings in B3s multi setup - like midi channel 1,2 and 3 for upper and lower manual and the pedals. That work.

I would assume that one can use multiple controllers the same way with the standalone version. But i only have one controller, so i can't test.
I suggest you contact Arturia support about this.
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: kensmithh95 on February 23, 2020, 05:05:42 am
Well, let me show you whatīs going on: I am using the Ableton Version which is attached to my M-Audio controller and as a secondary keyboard I am using a MIDIPLUS BK492 and both are being recognized through my Macbook as Port 1 for both controllers with no option to change it as you can see ( is all greyed out with no changing option whatsoever). Now, B3 Vst would only allow me to use either port 1 and some others, but I think the main issue is not being able to change the incoming port. What do I need to do in this case? ( Both controllers are being connected Via USB ordinary cable)
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: kensmithh95 on February 23, 2020, 05:50:36 am
My MAC Setup and my controllers. As you can see, the whole setup would not let me change ports
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: kensmithh95 on February 23, 2020, 05:58:22 am
My MAC Setup and my controllers. As you can see, the whole setup would not let me change ports
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: LBH on February 23, 2020, 02:11:26 pm
If you are saying, that you can't change MIDI channels like i described, then you shall be able to set each of your controllers (and also your DAW), to midi channel 1-16. Not in an apple port setup. A port and a channel is'nt the same. Each port has 16 channels.

Please refer to the manuals for your controllers about how to change the channel for each controller. I don't know about them.
Search for channel in the manuals. You can also ask in the forums for the controllers.

This is not about Arturias B3V2 application.

FYI: I'm a Windows user.
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: MajorFubar on February 24, 2020, 01:09:26 pm
You don't change midi channels via the Mac app, you change the midi channels on your controller. Consult the instruction manuals for your controllers to find out how to do that. You need to set one controller to midi channel 1 and the other controller to midi channel 2.

You're complicating things further by using the VST as a plugin in Abelton, because Ableton will remap incoming midi from your controllers. The easiest way to do what you want to do is to use the B3 in standalone mode. In standalone mode, the upper manual will respond to input on midi channel 1 and the lower manual on midi channel 2. Set your controllers to midi channel 1 and 2 accordingly, ensure you have both controllers selected for input in the B3's preferences, and it will work how you expect it to.
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: kensmithh95 on February 26, 2020, 05:00:08 am
U guys are geniuses! Didn't know I had to re-trace the channel route so I checked on my manuals and worked like a charm! Appreciate you being so patient and guiding me to resolve this out. Again, thanks a lot for assisting me!
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: MajorFubar on February 26, 2020, 12:53:42 pm
No worries. Helping each other is what this forum should all be about.
Title: Re: B3 with two keyboards
Post by: LBH on February 26, 2020, 01:23:58 pm
U guys are geniuses! Didn't know I had to re-trace the channel route so I checked on my manuals and worked like a charm! Appreciate you being so patient and guiding me to resolve this out. Again, thanks a lot for assisting me!
Your welcome. Enjoy playing.