March 29, 2024, 02:40:41 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Protools- using midi beat clock without getting catastrophic midi feedback loop  (Read 3676 times)

Howard Gray

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
I have Been trying three days to make this work and I have been doing this sort of thing for 25 years. Keystep syncs very well with the midi "Beat Clock" in protools.

However, if you try to record a sequence or arpeggiation back into Protools while keystep is synced to tools it will lock up in a nasty loop necessitating the disconnection of the midi output from the keystep to stop it. This lock up happens when you hit play in Protools even if there are no midi tracks in the session.

I have gone down every Protools trouble shooting path I can find.  I believe what I need is a way to filter the 24ppq sync signal coming from tools so that it does not pass through the Keystep back to protools. And yes midi through is turned off in Keystep

I am hoping this is simply a misunderstanding on my part of the midi control center settings?

???

polyana

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
No, I think you are doing everything right.

I had the same problem, luckily my midi interface has filters available, so I was able to remove the midi clock from the keystep input.

I think it's a definite feature request for an updated firmware, is the ability in MCC to turn off transmission of midi clock.

What midi interface do you use?

Howard Gray

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
I am using an Opcode Studio4 midi interface, so it looks like I will probobly need to get a 3rd party midi filter, at twice the cost of the Keystep  :(

polyana

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Are you using the opcode driver and setup program? Page 43 of the manual gives info on muting beat clock on an input.

That's all presuming you're using oms? If not, are there no filters within Pro Tools?

Howard Gray

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice