March 28, 2024, 01:49:44 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Question about sequencing (help please!).  (Read 1867 times)

newone11

Question about sequencing (help please!).
« on: March 10, 2016, 02:52:32 pm »
Hi all

I'm thinking of purchasing the Spark or Sparkle but I want to just make sure that it is going to suit my needs.
I'm very new to drum machines/samplers so please forgive me if it comes across very simplistic!

I need the right piece of hardware for using live onstage.
Basically, I have tried triggering tracks from my Macbook using Logic X.
However, the sound quality of the beats I have been triggering aren't good enough.
Somebody suggested investing in a sequencer / hardware to use onstage instead.
Someone suggested looking at the Arturia Spark/Sparkle. 

My main question is can I programme a beat for a full song from start to finish (for example a 4minute song)? Can I do that within the machine itself?
I don't want it to be a continuous 2 bar loop.
I want to have stops and breakdowns and for the beat to change on choruses etc...

I don't want to manually play the hardware live because I will be singing and playing guitar. I just need to be able to press play on each track in the set and know that the beats that I have programmed from beginning to finish will play.

Can anyone give me as a newbie some information/reassurance about this?

Many thanks for you help!!

Koshdukai

• Beta-testers
Re: Question about sequencing (help please!).
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2016, 03:21:17 pm »
Check if this video helps to answer your question:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f85XDaNRd0o

You should watch the various parts, but that video shows Spark's SONG mode and how, basically, do a "playlist" (or 16 chainable mini-playlists/songs) of the existing patterns.

Overview video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gqp0toNX4-M
« Last Edit: March 10, 2016, 03:24:35 pm by Koshdukai »

newone11