April 25, 2024, 06:58:00 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Tips on using the sequencer  (Read 8930 times)

murraythek

Tips on using the sequencer
« on: February 20, 2016, 10:05:29 pm »
Just picked up the Microbrute and I'm new to the world of synths and sequencers.

I played around with a few lines to set up in the sequencer, but everything I play stutters and doesn't have the fluidity of what I had originally played. Any tips?

JamesinSheffield

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Re: Tips on using the sequencer
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2016, 11:31:15 pm »
Hey, the sequencer is not very intuitive, but here are some tips: Always enter notes in multiples of 8. A standard bar in most electronic music will be 16 notes. There should be 64 available steps in the sequencer, so that means four lots of 16 notes.
I enter notes by counting them out, including the rests. Rests are a 'blank' step without a note, you enter them with the rest/tap tempo button. You need them to give your sequences some syncapation. (It might not be spelt like that)
Here are some examples, where 1= any note (preferably in the same key), and r = a rest.
1rr1rr1rrr1rr11r.
1rr1rr1rrr11rr1r.
11r11r1r1r11r11r.
11r1r1111r1r1rrr.

Hope that makes sense.

murraythek

« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 04:40:27 am »
That's perfect! The manual left out a lot of the info you gave me so this is great.

I also downloaded the software and dialed back the timing from 1/64 to 1/8 which is worlds better. It is a used unit so it would be nice if there was a way to do a factory reset.

LordVampyre

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2016, 04:57:53 am »
murraythek if I remember right there is a way to do a factory reset... its in the manual Im quite sure... if you dont have a manual its over on Arturia's website.