March 28, 2024, 11:47:01 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Help please: Beatstep with Roland SP404sx  (Read 8183 times)

paddydrumbo

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Help please: Beatstep with Roland SP404sx
« on: March 26, 2015, 12:49:27 am »
 Hi and thanks for looking. 

Bought a new Beatstep to enjoy triggering the pads my Roland SP404sx - hearing the velocity makes a huge difference. I'm a MIDI novice, and no other kit apart from a PC and an old arranger keyboard.  Have tried connecting the Beatstep to the arranger keyboard and sounds great.

But the Beatstep seems to be limited to triggering just five pads of my 404's first page of 12 samples.Here is what I get:

~Beatstep Pad 4   triggers the 404's Pad 1
       ~Beatstep Pad 5   triggers the 404's Pad 2
       ~Beatstep Pad 6   triggers the 404's Pad 3
       ~Beatstep Pad 7   triggers the 404's Pad 4
       ~Beatstep Pad 8   triggers the 404's Pad 5 

All the above is on MIDI channel 1.  Tried the 404's other channels and no sound at all.  I have the 404's MIDI syn' setting to 'OFF' (tried the other two settings of the 404 and no change.  I think the 404 is limited to note on and off and velocity.

Don't expect to trigger any of the other sample pad banks apart from Bank A, which is one would use to put all my drum hits. 

This is a new machine and I don't to register it as I am in the time limit to returning it for a refund.  Be nice though if it could trigger all the twelve pads of my 404 and that would sure be a keeper.

sorry about the length and thanks for your help
« Last Edit: March 26, 2015, 01:05:34 am by paddydrumbo »

Koshdukai

• Beta-testers
Re: Help please: Beatstep with Roland SP404sx
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2015, 01:05:17 am »
Install MIDI Control Center and easily setup one of the 16 "Memory" (i.e. configuration sets) of your BeatStep to send the correct Note out to your SP404sx