October 25, 2014, 06:14:38 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard  (Read 645 times)

Memphisto77

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« on: April 07, 2014, 09:50:54 pm »
How do I use the MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard?

Today I tried to record some drums from a plug-in in Pro Tools using the MB as Midi keyboard. It almost worked... the thing is the MB sounds are still there when trying to record other instruments. Is there a way to turn of "local control" on the MB?

Thanks!



Bas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 1
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2014, 11:40:13 pm »
Disconnect the output, dail down the volume or the oscillator?
Maybe i'm thinking to simple, but one of those should do it..

Memphisto77

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2014, 08:06:15 am »
Disconnect the output, dail down the volume or the oscillator?
Maybe i'm thinking to simple, but one of those should do it..

That of course could be a way to do it... But I'm thinking there must be a "build in" function that does this - maybe via MB Connection, if you wanted to use the MB as a portable Midi controller?

softbase

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2014, 02:51:35 pm »
That of course could be a way to do it... But I'm thinking there must be a "build in" function that does this - maybe via MB Connection, if you wanted to use the MB as a portable Midi controller?

I'm pretty sure that there is no way to do this.  In fact, now I think about it, I don't know of any synth that has this functionality.

Bacon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Karma: 11
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2014, 07:23:12 am »
Uh... did you read the manuals? It's in the Microbrute Connection Manual, in the Changing parameters via MIDI CCs chapter: Local ON/OFF is MIDI CC 122. It's not clear which value sets it to local off, but it does say that it takes the values 0 and 127 so it's just a matter testing which one does what.

softbase

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2014, 11:12:30 am »
Uh... did you read the manuals? It's in the Microbrute Connection Manual, in the Changing parameters via MIDI CCs chapter: Local ON/OFF is MIDI CC 122. It's not clear which value sets it to local off, but it does say that it takes the values 0 and 127 so it's just a matter testing which one does what.

Ha!  I missed that.  I assumed that the midi chart would only represent the stuff that's in the UI.  Now you mention it, yes local on/off sounds familiar from other stuff, it's been a while since I used any outboard gear in anger though :-)

My bad and good spot Bacon.

Still, odd that it's not in the UI.

Also, as the only way to set it is via midi in a DAW, it probably won't get saved when you turn off the MB as the manual states that you have to use the editor to save any changes, just using midi from a DAW means settings won't get saved.

Memphisto77

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #6 on: April 15, 2014, 01:17:18 pm »
Uh... did you read the manuals? It's in the Microbrute Connection Manual, in the Changing parameters via MIDI CCs chapter: Local ON/OFF is MIDI CC 122. It's not clear which value sets it to local off, but it does say that it takes the values 0 and 127 so it's just a matter testing which one does what.

Thanks! :) Would be a bit strange if this wasn't an option. Normally I use my DSI MoPho keyboard as a midi controller, on which you can just turn local control on and off.


colonelstem

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: 0
Re: MicroBrute as a Midi controller/keyboard
« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2014, 06:25:35 pm »
how did you get the midi notes to track in protools11? it works fine in logic x, but can't figure it out in pt. i set the input on the midi track to "microbrute" all channels and nothing happens. I also tried setting the input as "microbrute midi interface" all channels and it still does not see a midi signal. I tracks perfectly in logic, so its not a matter of midi not being sent.

I have microbrute connection installed and have updated to newest firmware. am i doing something wrong?

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines