May 29, 2016, 12:06:14 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Ext Sync Not Working  (Read 3106 times)

TomStanford

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Ext Sync Not Working
« on: August 13, 2014, 01:18:21 pm »
Hi,

So I got the BeatStep in the hope of being able to use it to externally sequence analog synths and drums while being in sync with my DAW (Reason 7) so I can record my external kit. However, when connected to my Reason, I press the EXT Sync button and press the transport controls in Reason and the BeatStep just sits there lifelessly doing nothing. I have tried in Reason's settings toggling the "Send Midi" options, adding the BeatStep as a control surface and (in the preferences menu, under  "Sync") I have tried both selecting the BeatStep in the "Midi Clock Sync" as an output, so as to sync the BeatStep to Reason. Despite trying all these options, I have had no success in getting the BeatStep to cooperate. I have looked on these forums and there is only guides for Cubase, Ableton and Logic.

If somebody could explain to me how to sync up with Reason 7, I would really appreciate the help!

Thanks! 
« Last Edit: August 13, 2014, 02:13:19 pm by TomStanford »

zedius

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 9
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2014, 06:38:24 pm »
I am having this same problem with Logic Pro X. If I have Logic set up as master, and then press the external/sync button on the beatstep, it will not play when I press the play button in Logic. It also will not play if I press the play button on beatstep, presumably because it is waiting for an external sync signal.

terrym

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.034
  • Karma: -78
    • soundcloud.com/logicaldream
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 04:28:14 pm »
Hi for logic you need to set up the sync please see screenshot . So go into pref / midi then  sync then midi sync project settings transmit midi to all and mtc

hope this helps


sorry i don't use reason so not sure what you do there.

terrym
Terry
aka Logicaldream
Arturia Tester for spark,analog lab2,kl88,matrix12,semv,beatstep,minibrute se,ASC,Vcol4, Beatstep pro, VCOL5,Synclavier v.

zedius

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 108
  • Karma: 9
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2014, 06:06:03 pm »
Thanks Terrym!  That worked.

fabricelig

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 14
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #4 on: October 31, 2014, 10:49:37 am »
Thanx Tom,
The sync between Logic & BS is working here.
What I can't do is sync BS and MMC…So I can't set-up properly the BS thanks to the MMC.

Neosashi

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2014, 07:28:12 am »
Bump. I'm having the same exact problem as OP.

Neosashi

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2014, 05:51:37 pm »
OP, I have the solution. In reason, click on options>sync> and the make sure that "send MIDI clock" is checked.

Elsius

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Ext Sync Not Working
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2016, 11:01:59 pm »
Terrym, i don't have that ''allow to send position while playing'' option.

What i'm doing wrong? What should i do?

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines