August 27, 2016, 10:31:04 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Origin Desktop power supply  (Read 215 times)

sirdemon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Origin Desktop power supply
« on: August 08, 2016, 11:21:27 pm »
heylo all!

i've pulled my Origin Desktop out for the first time in a good while after a couple of moves. unfortunately, i've misplaced my power supply!

on the Arturia website, it states it requires 6.5V/3.85A with a + tip. where can i buy one of these? google is not helping...

thanx!
SDB
Arturia Origin Desktop - 1.4.1 (PRE-RELEASE) - V Collection 5 - Laboratory 49 Keyboard

sirdemon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2016, 07:52:02 pm »
I've written Arturia and I'm still awaiting their response.

it seems to be a very unique power supply. none of the major electronic parts distributors have anything close to it. i've tried mouser/allied/digikey and a few others.

could someone kindly post a picture of the power supply including a readable image of the power supply manufacturer and specifications? it might help me in my quest.

thank you!
SDB
Arturia Origin Desktop - 1.4.1 (PRE-RELEASE) - V Collection 5 - Laboratory 49 Keyboard

DrJustice

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 237
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 02:37:53 am »
Here's an image of the PSU label.

Unfortunately I can't find this specific PSU on the net, neither can I find a direct replacement. It's a bit worrying with such an unusual PSU spec - after all, PSU's are usually the first thing to break.

I know Philippe has said that it must be the exact spec of 6.5V/3.85A. However, I would think that that Origin, like all other electronic equipment with on board regulation, can accept a slightly different voltage. It could also be that Arturia have some NOS PSUs. Perhaps Philippe can help us out here?
« Last Edit: August 10, 2016, 02:39:43 am by DrJustice »

sirdemon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2016, 06:46:18 am »
thanx for the image DrJustice!

doing a search of the ktec model number (KSAFF0650385T1M2), i did find a company that has approximately 257 in stock!

i requested a price quote for 1. :)

https://www.sierraic.com/ksaff0650385t1m2

i'll let you know what i find out.

thanx again!
SDB
Arturia Origin Desktop - 1.4.1 (PRE-RELEASE) - V Collection 5 - Laboratory 49 Keyboard

DrJustice

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 237
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #4 on: August 10, 2016, 05:45:20 pm »
Good find! I wrongly inserted a space before the "1M2" in my search...

If it's not too expensive, I'll consider getting backup. Perhaps we could do a group buy if the price is right...(?)

The shop is in the US. That could incur a crazy postage/courier outlay for us Europeans, so it would still be interesting to know if Arturia can supply them, and if the Origin has some tolerance for the voltage.

sirdemon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2016, 06:26:31 pm »
DrJustice....

well i have bad news. i was quoted $400 for one. :o buy hey, a minimum of 2 is required!  :-*

i called and talked to james who says his hands are tied because of blah blah blah. nice guy.

anyways, i'm going to try writing KTEC and see what they say. i still haven't heard back from Arturia.

the beat goes on!
SDB
Arturia Origin Desktop - 1.4.1 (PRE-RELEASE) - V Collection 5 - Laboratory 49 Keyboard

DrJustice

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
  • Karma: 237
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2016, 11:56:00 pm »
Ouch! Their price was probably $4... a 10000% markup then. That's not even funny. You can get a 30V/10A programmable laboratory PSU for $50. The Ktec power brick should retail for no more than $25 or so in a high cost western country.

OK, over to Arturia!

Philippe

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 438
  • Karma: 54
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2016, 05:14:57 pm »
I think that there are some spare PSU in stock (canít check as Iím in vacation at the moment). To get one of them you *have* to open a case with the support. Once itís done you should get a replacement PSU quite fast.
Origin Lead  Developer

sirdemon

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Origin Desktop power supply
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2016, 06:43:35 pm »
here's an update for ya,

Arturia wrote me back. They charge $50.49 for the power supply plus shipping costs. I live in Athens, Georgia USA. For me, shipping costs would be $26.34.

$50.49 + $26.34 (shipping) = $76.83

not cheap, but at least I'd have a power supply.

luckily, I found mine a few days ago!

it's great to have my Origin back. :)

Arturia Origin Desktop - 1.4.1 (PRE-RELEASE) - V Collection 5 - Laboratory 49 Keyboard

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines