October 30, 2014, 04:18:06 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%  (Read 5056 times)

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #30 on: December 12, 2012, 02:12:50 pm »
I don't think Spark is taking more CPU in FLStudio than in Ableton or Cubase.
It is just that it is taking more CPU on some setups.

This problem is something that we will adress. I can just no tell you when because I don't know exactly where it comes from.
Maybe we will have to rewrite a big part of the engine to improve this so it might take some time.

Kevin
Kevin
Soft Arturia

punkdSICO

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 69
  • Karma: 4
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #31 on: December 12, 2012, 02:29:14 pm »
That's why FruityLoops and a Win Pc aren't the first choice for serious producers. Period.
The first two Beatles albums were recorded on 2 track tape recorders.  Even some of Front 242ís most popular tracks were 2 track recordings..  Im not sure where this puts them on the "serious producers" scale..   :)

Paul
London
www.punkdisco.co.uk
Text SLUT to: 29 7 29 7
Hereís the video:  www.youtu.be/Zl0PTZKy7fg

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: -1
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #32 on: December 13, 2012, 02:16:49 am »
The first two Beatles albums were recorded on 2 track tape recorders.  Even some of Front 242ís most popular tracks were 2 track recordings..  Im not sure where this puts them on the "serious producers" scale..   :)

I definitely wasn't talking about recording on its own, but about producing aka the whole workflow from recording to mastering.

If Abbey Road Studios as *the* hitec, state-of-the-art producing  expert at their times would've had 64GB-RAM quad-core comps in 1960, what do you think would had been running on them?? :)

silikonanswer

  • Beta-testers
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #33 on: December 13, 2012, 10:24:19 pm »
Maybe what dedmau5 is running.

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: -1
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #34 on: December 14, 2012, 12:42:42 am »
Maybe what dedmau5 is running.

Now Ableton Live, after his first years with FL? No, you're kidding... :)

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 13
    • http://home.cogeco.ca/~cc4/
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #35 on: December 14, 2012, 06:19:44 am »
If a comparison is needed, I'm running Windows 7 Professional on a 64-bit machine Intel Core i5 2.40GHz with 4GB of RAM. 

In standalone mode on my PC, Spark runs on average around 9% when idle.  I notice there are differences depending on which kit is loaded.  When playing it's anywhere from 10% - 25% depending on which kit is loaded.

In FL Studio 10.0.9, Spark 1.5 (according to Spark's CPU meter) runs on average around 11% when idle, and about 15% - 35% when playing (again depending on which kit is loaded).

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #36 on: December 14, 2012, 10:07:57 am »
hi Chuck,
same sample rate, same buffer size?
Kevin
Soft Arturia

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 13
    • http://home.cogeco.ca/~cc4/
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #37 on: December 14, 2012, 05:13:58 pm »
Good question.  Let me check...

CC4

  • Beta-testers
  • Full Member
  • *
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 13
    • http://home.cogeco.ca/~cc4/
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #38 on: December 14, 2012, 06:14:01 pm »
No ::) , actually the sample rates were different when I mentioned the previous CPU readings (Standalone was 48, FL was 41).  So I set them to the same rates.  I first tried out 80s Studio Drums and then Alien Circuit.  I used to consider Alien Circuit "the beast" kit.  In earlier versions it seemed to load a lot slower and seemed to be one of the heavier CPU labor intensive kits:

Spark using 80s Studio Drums -
Standalone:  ASIO Echo PCI, 24 bit, 410000 Hz, 512 Buffer - Idle:  8%-9% (rather constant) - Playing Song:  16% (constant)
FL Studio:  ASIO Echo PCI, 24 bit, 41000 Hz, 512 Buffer - Idle:  9%-18% (stays somewhat constant at 9% but oddly fluctuates to higher percentages) - Playing Song:  16-17% (rather constant)

Spark using Alien Circuit -
Standalone:  ASIO Echo PCI, 24 bit, 410000 Hz, 512 Buffer - Idle:  8%-9% (rather constant) - Playing Song:  16% (constant)
FL Studio:  ASIO Echo PCI, 24 bit, 41000 Hz, 512 Buffer - Idle:  15%-21% (wavers slowly) - Playing Song:  24-31% (CPU usage seems to waver depending on complexity)

If it helps, I can send you some more detailed readings privately.

silikonanswer

  • Beta-testers
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #39 on: December 19, 2012, 05:11:52 pm »

vaikl

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 175
  • Karma: -1
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #40 on: December 19, 2012, 05:48:14 pm »

silikonanswer

  • Beta-testers
  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: 0
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #41 on: December 20, 2012, 09:17:42 pm »
That's his live setup. 90% of band use Live for live use as it is a DAW designed for this purpose. Live is fantastic as Cubase or Logic or the BBC Micro sequencer used by Vince Clark. FL Studio is used by professionals like any other DAW. So use whatever you want and makes you happy.
The problem of high CPU is something that Arturia is aware and I see they will sort it out. It is not related to any sequencer. Probably something to do with Windows.
The Spark controller is beautifully build. I also like the software. Maybe the effects could be more editable. The library is pretty impressive. My only gripe is the CPU usage and that is not supported natively in FL Studio. I could use it as generic controller and it works very well, but I would love to use it fully.
Anyway the CPU usage will be lower in 2013 if the world not ends tomorrow :-) I am sure the Arturia team are searching for a solution.

Kevin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.542
  • Karma: 82
    • http://www.arturia.com
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #42 on: December 21, 2012, 09:41:25 am »
My only gripe is the CPU usage and that is not supported natively in FL Studio.
What are you exactly missing in FL Studio?
The only thing that is not working is MIDI recording.
Kevin
Soft Arturia

dijidave

  • Beta-testers
  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Karma: 1
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #43 on: December 21, 2012, 05:24:33 pm »
           "Anyway the CPU usage will be lower in 2013 if the world not ends tomorrow :-) I am sure the Arturia team are searching for a solution."

            Didn't end 4 us Aussies        8-)

xtinct

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
Re: 1.5.1 STILL has problem high CPU%
« Reply #44 on: January 22, 2013, 05:28:42 pm »
Any updates for a fix on this issue?
This is the only thing holding me back from using this live in ableton recordings....

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines