October 25, 2014, 06:06:51 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?  (Read 1210 times)

Newbie-Doo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« on: March 08, 2012, 03:03:14 am »
In the user manual and online the power supply requirement is listed as 12V, 500mA, Positive (+) tip.

On the keyboard controller itself, the label above the power supply connection says 6V, 0.5A, Positive (+) tip. 

I don't want to mess up the controller by using the wrong power supply. 

Anybody else have the 6V label on their controller?
These ARE the good old days!

Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • Karma: 19
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2012, 04:57:29 pm »
The 32-key "THE FACTORY" is 12V (I've tried, it works).

DaveS

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 19
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2012, 09:08:32 am »
If it says 6v then use a  6v supply.  I ran into ths issue with my 49 key laboratory controller.  Manual and box said 12v but keyboard said 6v.  Arturia tech suppirt even said 12v.  However when I plugged a 12 v supply in the dsplay got extremely bright...far brighter then it should.  I immediately disconnected the supply and asked Arturia US to confirm with the factory and when they did it was 6v , NOT 12v.  I bought a small Hosa power suppky, set it for 6v and it's been great.


Koshdukai

  • Beta-testers
  • Sr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 439
  • Karma: 19
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2012, 11:26:32 am »
hmmm... so there's various versions of the same model or the 49-key is always 6V (!?)

Newbie-Doo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2012, 12:39:10 pm »
If it says 6v then use a  6v supply.  I ran into ths issue with my 49 key laboratory controller.  Manual and box said 12v but keyboard said 6v.  Arturia tech suppirt even said 12v.  However when I plugged a 12 v supply in the dsplay got extremely bright...far brighter then it should.  I immediately disconnected the supply and asked Arturia US to confirm with the factory and when they did it was 6v , NOT 12v.  I bought a small Hosa power suppky, set it for 6v and it's been great.



Common sense shouted 'use an adapter that matches the label on the unit', but I just wanted to make sure no one else had issues using a 6V power supply.  I've got an old adjustable Radio Shack power supply that should do the trick.  Thanks for your reply, Dave.
These ARE the good old days!

Newbie-Doo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2012, 12:42:37 pm »
hmmm... so there's various versions of the same model or the 49-key is always 6V (!?)

It does seem strange that it's listed as 12V everywhere but on the unit itself, and that the 'smaller' controller uses 12V.  Looking around I noticed several other Lab owners who said their unit was 6V as well, so I would assume that they changed the voltage specs with the latest production batch.
These ARE the good old days!

djdanlib

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #6 on: March 13, 2012, 09:16:28 pm »
The USB 2.0 spec provides 5V at up to 500mA per device, so that should be all you need from an AC adapter!

Newbie-Doo

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Is the correct power for 49-key controller 12v or 6v?
« Reply #7 on: March 13, 2012, 10:02:47 pm »
The USB 2.0 spec provides 5V at up to 500mA per device, so that should be all you need from an AC adapter!

Thanks for the info! 

I was lucky and found a 6V 600mA in my box of spare adapters.   That should do the trick.

 :D

These ARE the good old days!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines