November 27, 2014, 08:40:58 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Solutions!  (Read 10827 times)

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Solutions!
« on: November 28, 2011, 05:12:05 am »
Technical issues with your LABORATORY?

Read the USER'S MANUAL

Check the Knowledge Base
Some useful articles have been put on-line, and certainly worth reading:
     
Keep an eye on our forums
Probably another user will have had the same problem, and already
figured it out. More mutual-aid oriented, our forums surely are a source
of helpful tips n'tricks:
     
Request specific Technical Support
You must be logged into your account, and have registered at least one
synthesizer. You will then be able to fill a request form, which we
ensure to reply at best within minutes, at worst within 48 hours:

For any request other than technical support (Sales, Communication,
Website, General Information), please refer to our Contact page.

Note : Please make sure you've installed the latest update of the product.



Note:
Always restart your keyboard controller after closing The Laboratory MIDI Control Center or storing a new configuration in SETUP-mode!


All these solutions are not guaranteed, but tested positive by myself!

Have a look at these threads:

The Big Bugs And Issues! and Features We'd Like To See Added!

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Maintain Your Own Sounds And Scenes
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2011, 05:44:33 am »
Wanna manage own scenes and sounds in LABORATORY?

1.just copy any scene or sound
2.edit the copy with your own favorite settings
3a.export as *.snd/*.scn
4a.open the file with any texteditor and change the "PresetName", "PresetAuthor" or "SceneName", "SceneAuthor"
5a.save the file and re-import the *.snd / *.scn in your LABORATORY
or
3b.double-click the "PRESET NAME" section on the edit page [SNAPSHOT]
4b.enter a new name for your SOUND or SCENE
5b.save the preset using the save button in the upper left corner

BTW:
The *.snd / *.scn files are not required to use your Soundpresets and Scenes in LABORATORY after you've imported them, but make shure you have your sounds and scenes saved on your harddrive for later use and if you want to share them with other LABORATORY musicians.

Tip:
If "PresetUserMade" or "SceneUserMade" is set to 0 you can't delet the Soundpreset or Scene from in your LABORATORY! This can be used to protect your presets, so they can't be overwritten.
If you want to delet or edit such a preset later, just export it and change only "PresetUserMade" / "SceneUserMade" to 1. Import the *.snd / *.scn again and you can edit the preset or delet it from the library-browser.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Own Loops Triggered By Laboratory
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2011, 06:01:20 am »
Wanna have your own REX-files triggered by LABORATORY?

Just go to C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Arturia\Analog Laboratory\samples and back up the whole folder into a save place first.
Now exchange some files with your own REX-Loops and rename them like the original files that were stored in this folder.

DON'T RENAME ANY FOLDERS OR CHANGE THE FOLDER STRUCTUR!

Open your LABORATORY and you can use the loops for your very own scenes.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Transport-/Sequencer-Buttons
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2011, 07:19:54 am »
Wanna use the Transport-/Sequencer-Buttons in your DAW?

For Ableton Live just configure them as follows:

NameModeChannel CC Number  DAW Function
Host Ctrl#1   Control
1
52
Start
Host Ctrl#2 Control
1
53
Stop
Host Ctrl#3 Control Toggle
1
54
Global Record
Host Ctrl#4 Control/Control Toggle
1
55
Phase Nudge Down
Host Ctrl#5 Control/Control Toggle
1
56
Phase Nudge Up
Host Ctrl#6 Control Toggle
1
57
Loop On/Off

Map these settings to your host and your ready.

For Host Controller#1 you have to change "Absolute" to "Relative (Signed Bit)" in Lives MIDI-settings. (Otherwise the first note will play two times when you trigger the Play-button.)
1. open the MIDI-map-mode
2. assign the controller
3. Open the dropdown menu at the bottom of the screen and change the setting as discribed [SCREENSHOT]

For Host Controler#4 and #5 you can choose the Mode settings which best fit your workflow.

DON'T FORGET TO SAVE THIS AS TEMPLATE!
Or just overwrite the default template.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Mapping The Drum Pads For Ableton Live
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2011, 08:13:36 am »
Wanna map the Drum-Pads to work in Ableton Live?

NameModeChannel   CC Number
Pad #1   MIDI Note
10
124
Pad #2MIDI Note
10
125
Pad #3MIDI Note
10
126
Pad #4MIDI Note
10
127

Now you can use the drum pads in Ableton!

Or use Ctrl + click on a pad/knob/button to enable MIDI learn.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
The Category -/ Preset Knobs
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2011, 09:25:31 am »
Having problems browsing through the LABORATORY library?

Use the following settings!

NameModeCC Number
Category Adjust    Relative Control
112
Category SelectControl
113
Preset AdjustRelative Control
114
Preset SelectControl
115

Store these settings and the problem should be solved.

Note: In standalone mode this is working fine, but most DAWs will have problems to translate this to the plugin! In this case I recommend using the following settings to move up and down the preset list.

NameFunctionModeCC Number
Category Select  Move UpControl
20
Preset SelectMove Down   Control
21

BTW: You can then use the adjust encoders for other purposes and change the Mode to Control if needed.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Importing V-Collection 2 Presets Into The Laboratory
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2011, 09:36:44 am »
Wanna use V-Collection 2 patches in LABORATORY?

1.copy a sound in the Laboratory (f.e. a minimoog bass sound)
2.open the minimoog from in the Laboratory and then open the SOUND MAP
3.show the available sounds as "List" and choose the sound you want to use
4.close the minimoog and save the sound in the Laboratory
5.export the sound
6a.before you re-import the sound open the *.snd with a texteditor and change the author etc.
7a.import your sound and you can use it in the Laboratory
or
6b.double-click the "PRESET NAME" section on the edit page [SNAPSHOT]
7b.enter the new preset name

There is only one problem:
You can't change the custom controls assignments (Param. 1 - 4)
(Or at least I don't know how to change them using the texteditor)
They will always be the same as in the original sound you've copied first.
One thing Arturia should improve...

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Spliting The Keyboard
« Reply #7 on: March 19, 2012, 04:38:20 pm »
Wanna use SPLIT-MODE to control different tracks?

If you're trying to use the knobs, faders and buttons on different MIDI-channels, you have to store different setups. They're not switching automatically by pushing LOWER or UPPER on the keyboard controller! But you can switch between different setups (on the fly) using the RECALL function in SETUP mode.

Setup   Lower keys   Upper keys   Knobs/Faders/Buttons   Pads
01
Channel 1
Channe l2
Channel 1
Channel10
02
Channel 1
Channel 2
Channel 2
Channel10

How to?:

Use the MCC or the SETUP-mode to set up the first configuration.
You have to set the MIDI-channel for every knob, fader and button manually!
If you use the MCC restart the controller after closing the MCC!
Store the configuration you made to memory bank 01 and reboot the keyboard controller. Then configure the second setup and store it on memory bank 02 and so on.

You can store up to 10 different configurations (00 is default/factory configuration) and recall them (on the fly) by pressing SETUP, RECALL, choosing the setup you need and pushing PRESET/VALUE.

Note: I recommend to use the SEQUENCER-buttons always on channel 1, as they are meant to control the DAW and not single tracks.

BTW: It's also possible to configure a setup where you set the channel for the knobs, faders and buttons to Panel and the channel for the Upper and Lower button to All.

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Recording MIDI-Automations In A DAW
« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2012, 12:50:53 pm »
Wanna record and edit MIDI-Automations in Ableton Live?

To be able to see and post-edit the recorded automations, you have to prepare another keyboard setup. Use two different MIDI-Channels for the Upper and Lower keys and turn off Split-Mode. I recommend using the MCC to set-up your configuration, because MIDI-Channel "ALL" (used for the MOD-Section) is not available in SetUp-Mode on the keyboard.

Set the CONTROLS', ENVELOPES' and Modulation-Wheels MIDI-Channels to PANEL and the MOD sections MIDI-Channel to ALL. The DRUMPADS-, SEARCH-, SNAPSHOTS- and SEQUENCER- sections can use there normal MIDI-Channel settings (General in the table).

Keyboard Section     MIDI-Channel
Global LevelGeneral
SearchGeneral
SnapshotsGeneral
SequencerGeneral
ModAll
ControlsPanel
EnvelopePanel
DrumpadsGeneral
ModulationPanel

After storing this configuration to the keyboards memory you can open Ableton and use Abletons MIDI-Mapping-Feature to map all the CONTROLS and ENVELOPES manually.

Open the device-parameters for the Laboratory plugin and activate the "Configure" button, now switch to another preset in SCENE-Mode to see most of the available parameters of the plugin. Just add the Level encoder and the upper and lower Pitch- and Mod-Wheel as well and then map the WHEELS, CONTROLS and ENVELOPES to there associated keyboard controls.
Because the Pitch wheel is always assigned to the Upper MIDI-Channel, it can only be assigned to UPPER or LOWER pitch. But you can use the UPPER or LOWER Tempo-Fader to control the second Pitch bend.

Now you can post-edit all the recorded fades and twiddlings you make!

Because of useing the PANEL and ALL settings for the keyboard instead of predefined MIDI-Channels, you can still control the CONTROLS and ENVELOPES for the UPPER and the LOWER part of a SCENE and record everything.

Off course you can also use two configurations with two different predefined MIDI-Channels and switch between them on the fly.
That's pretty much the same and doesn't make much a difference, but you need two memory banks.

Note: Using the Upper/Lower buttons switches the MIDI-Channel for the Panel related controls, but not the shown controls on the screen. You have to use the mouse to change between Upper and Lower Controls view.

BTW: The mixer section is unfortunately not available for automation recording. I hope Arturia will improve this one day in a new version. ;)

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
Storing Different Configurations Using The MIDI Control Center
« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2012, 09:10:06 pm »
Wanna store different SETUPS using the MCC?

When you send a configuration to the keyboard using the MCC, the settings are stored on memory bank 00 and will automatically load when you turn on the controller.
To store different settings using the MCC you should configure one after another, send it to keyboard, store it to any free memory bank and save it to your harddrive for later use.

After storing all configurations and closing the MCC you should reboot the controller.

Holding both OCTAVE buttons during startup, will reset all memory banks on the controller (including bank 00)!

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
The MIDI Chart
« Reply #10 on: June 19, 2012, 09:18:01 pm »
An example MIDI-Chart for the Laboratory.

Item
Mode
CC Number
Modulation Wheel
Control
1
Breath Control
Control
2
Level
Control
7
Expression Pedal
Control
11
Aux Pedal
Control
12
Key Parameter #3
Control
16
Key Parameter #4
Control
17
Key Parameter #1
Control
18
Key Parameter #2
Control
19
Snapshot #1
Duration Control
22
Snapshot #2
Duration Control
23
Snapshot #3
Duration Control
24
Snapshot #4
Duration Control
25
Snapshot #5
Duration Control
26
Snapshot #6
Duration Control
27
Snapshot #7
Duration Control
28
Snapshot #8
Duration Control
29
Snapshot #9
Duration Control
30
Snapshot #10
Duration Control
31
Lower Panel
Control
46
Upper Panel
Control
47
Host Control #1
Control
52
Host Control #2
Control
53
Host Control #3
Control Toggle
54
Host Control #4
Control/Control Toggle
55
Host Control #5
Control/Control Toogle
56
Host Control #6
Control Toggle
57
Sustain Pedal
Control
64
Filter Resonance
Control
71
Envelope R
Control
72
Envelope A
Control
73
Filter Cutoff
Control
74
Envelope D
Control
75
LFO Rate
Control
76
LFO Amount
Control
77
Envelope S
Control
79
Envelope #2 A
Control
80
Envelope #2 D
Control
81
Envelope #2 S
Control
82
Envelope #2 R
Control
83
Tempo
Control
85
FX Mix Delay
Control
91
FX Mix Chorus
Control
93
Category Adjust
Relative Control
112
Category Select
Control
113
Preset Adjust
Relative Control
114
Preset Select
Control
115
Sound Mode
Control
118
Scene Mode
Control
119
Pad #1
MIDI Note
124
Pad #2
MIDI Note
125
Pad #3
MIDI Note
126
Pad #4
MIDI Note
127

Manuel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 331
  • Karma: 1
  • GTHC-Entertainment
    • MySpace
General Reference!
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2012, 04:23:05 pm »
Problems with the MIDI settings?

Important Global Values:

NameMode
Knob ModeAbsolute
Fader Mode        Normal


If you use to change the MIDI values via SETUP mode on your keyboard controller, refer to the USER'S MANUAL for more information. In particular, read chapter 7.1.5 Search / MIDI section and subsequent. There you'll find information about the setup mode.

Don't store settings to memory bank number 00 or while any connected application is opened!

A known issue is then:

SETUP and STORE buttons light up when you start the controller.

The resolution is then:

1. push the SETUP button twice
2. open The Laboratory MIDI Control Center
3.load the default values (or your favorite settings)
4.send them to keyboard
5. close the MCC and reboot the keyboard controller

Note:
Always restart your keyboard controller after closing The Laboratory MIDI Control Center or storing a new configuration in SETUP mode!



Have a look at these threads:

The Big Bugs And Issues! and Features We'd Like To See Added!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines