September 27, 2016, 04:00:51 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: A maintenance is planned for Thursday, 15th of September. It should last 2 hours, starting at 10am french time.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue  (Read 1335 times)

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« on: June 12, 2015, 04:26:36 pm »
I experience the modulation button clicks very loud when i use it.
It is by default set to react on the modwheel. But JP8s mod button is a on/ off - 0/1 feature, and modwheel are not. I guess this is the cause for the clicks. This is very annoying. I would like to use my modwheel to control the modbutton.

Also i can't find Jp8s modbutton in my list for automation and in my automap. This i find is odd, as i usually find the modwheel. I guess it's better to assign a on/off control button to JP8s to modbutton, even if it's annoying.

How do you work with this?

Can i avoid clicks using the modwheel to control JP8s modbutton?

Would it be an idea to make a selectable  true modwhell feature on JP8, even if that is not a true emulation? It would be nice.

BTW: i use the newest update. It seems to be worse clicking.


EDIT: It is when used as plug-in the clicking is there. It's impossible to use modulation using controller or thru automation as it is. Is this a bug?


« Last Edit: June 13, 2015, 07:04:40 pm by LBH »

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2015, 03:53:17 am »

It looks like the problem is with my new DAW. I'm not compleately sure.
No issues on Studio One 2. But on Studio One 3 there is troubles.

But if anyone do experience crackling when using the modwheel then please report.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2015, 01:39:45 pm »

I can know say, that JP8 in studio One 3 give extremly high CPU spikes when using the modwheel.

As it is not happening using the modwheel  with other of the synths (except with Analog Laboratory in some degree), and as the same picture appears in Analog Lab only when using the JP8, then it somehow must be something with the way JP8 is build.
I hope Arturia will correct this important thing for the next update, and the update will come soon.

BTW: I have the latest update from yesterday, and it's the same.


TonyFlyingSquirrel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 227
  • Karma: 6
  • Beta Tester
    • WOR PARTY
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2015, 04:11:34 pm »
Tested in PT 12, not an issue so far.
Bite off more than you can chew, then start chewing. Apple iMac 27-inch 3.4GHz Quad-core i7 (Mid 2011) MC814LL/A RAM:20GB, Hard Drive:1.0TB HDD + 256GB SSD, Opt Drive:SuperDrive-DL,  Vid Card:AMD Radeon HD 6970M, Audio Interface: Avid Fast Track Duo, Midi I/O: Arturia, Analog Exp.The Lab 49, V-Col-5

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2015, 07:08:02 pm »
Tested in PT 12, not an issue so far.

Thanks. Nice to know.

I suspect it's the way JP8 and Studio One 3 interact. But JP8 must be build in a special way, as it's only JP8 i'm having trouble with.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2015, 11:57:05 pm »

If i set the midi min/ max for JP8 somewhere in the middle for both controls (min where in come to function as a just below where it don't respond and max just above where it don't respond) then i can get much better result. It still make a short CPU spike, but not as much.

So to me it looks like the difference between a modwheel and the mod button on JP8, as i described. JP 8's mod button is a on/off thing and the mod wheel is not.

ben arturia

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 905
  • Karma: 20
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2015, 11:41:56 am »
Hi LBH

This is a known issue.
Thank you to take time to report it.
Unfortunately it does happen on all DAWs.

We will try to fix this bug in a future update.
 
.......testing.......

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2015, 12:52:05 pm »

Hi Ben,

Thanks. Nice to know. Looking forward to next update.

LBH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 612
  • Karma: 21
Re: Modbutton - modwheel - midi issue
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2015, 02:25:07 pm »
It looks like the clicks on the mod button is gone in the new version even if it's as i recall is not mentioned in the update notes. That's good even if it might be a coincidence.
But unfortunately there are problems with the risetime. If using none or low risetime especially less than 5 ms, then there are very much noise. Arturia please fix this.
« Last Edit: October 28, 2015, 02:26:44 pm by LBH »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines