March 19, 2024, 08:18:38 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Can a Minibrute control a Microbrute via CV?  (Read 3659 times)

geebake

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Can a Minibrute control a Microbrute via CV?
« on: March 13, 2014, 12:38:39 am »
Forgive my ignorance. I'm really new to analog synths but have become very enthusiastic about them.

I recently acquired both a Minibrute and a Microbrute. I also have a few Mgs (Minitaur, Slim Phatty and a Sub Phatty). I'm fascinated by the concept of CV control.

I've had some success using CV control. I also have a MgerFooger CP 251 and have gotten it to do some interesting things with the Brutes. What I can't seem to figure out though is how to control one Brute from the other.

I assumed that I could connect the Gate Out from one to the Gate In on the other and then Connect Pitch Out to Pitch in similarly. This doesn't seem to work at all. I must be misunderstanding this process.

I totally realize that I can use a midi cable and avoid any of this. it's totally an academic effort.

I guess a bigger question is: Can anyone recommend a good place to learn about modular synths and connecting them? A good book perhaps?

Thanks!

Bert

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Re: Can a Minibrute control a Microbrute via CV?
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2014, 01:03:31 pm »
Look at this video of Mark Doty: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3ij2os8i9w

geebake

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2014, 12:55:23 am »
Fantastic video. Wow did that teach me a lot. The duophony thing is just brilliant. That inspired me to try the same thing with my Sub Phatty and Minitaur. And it works! I would never have thought of that. What cool possibilities that opens up.

I am still baffled by one thing though - and I'm sure this is my misunderstanding.

I still want to send note data to the Micro from the mini via CV and I just can't make it work.