November 24, 2014, 05:35:06 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: ^5  (Read 6435 times)

convoythecat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.myspace.com/convoythecat
^5
« on: August 19, 2007, 10:54:21 am »
I wasn't convinced about jupiter 8v initially. yet after weeks of deliberation and weighing my options it still stood out as my best solution to keep an overall theme and continuity with the virtual studio I have been piecing together. But even when you have the right tool there is still work that needs to be accomplished. I have to say that I do not regret the decision at all. The modern additions like the galaxy aren't gimmicks at all, they really help the work flow past holes like option overload that other synths can fall into. It really keeps production moving. End capping the workflow nicely is the sound quality. The twiddling is over when the patch sounds good isn't it? It's funny how that really expedites the process huh?

Anyway, my conclusion so far is that the jupiter 8v is a compelling and rewarding instrument. It's really bringing my daw expirience together and making my goals attainable.

^5

Vincent T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.arturia.com
^5
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 10:22:54 am »
:D
Vincent
DSP Arturia

Sub Audio

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2007, 03:11:16 pm »
It's a shame that the CPU usage can get so high...but this is probably my favourite instrument from the V Collection... I don't have a Jupiter 8 synth but have used an SH101 extensively- and this does have the Roland sound!


Rik

Vincent T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.arturia.com
^5
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2007, 03:51:11 pm »
Quote
It's a shame that the CPU usage can get so high...


yeah..unfortunately, quality has a price...
Vincent
DSP Arturia

bayofkings

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2007, 08:18:56 pm »
Does this mean that it (cpu usage) will never get better?  Mine is almost unplayable (see my post on "cpu usage" in the Technical Issues forum).

poropat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: 2
^5
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2007, 02:01:48 am »
so, what is the proper CPU I need to buy to use Arturia VST's, without being bothered by CPU overload? (does such cpu exist yet? 8) )
MoogModularV,CS80V,MinimoogV,Arp2600V,
prophetV, Jupiter8V, SEMV

Vincent T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.arturia.com
^5
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2007, 09:39:28 am »
Quote
Does this mean that it (cpu usage) will never get better?


no, i don't mean that ; we are trying constantly to optimize the alrorithms but we won't be able ro reduce it in a large proportion..
Vincent
DSP Arturia

Simon-d

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2007, 02:09:01 pm »
Quote from: "poropat"
so, what is the proper CPU I need to buy to use Arturia VST's, without being bothered by CPU overload? (does such cpu exist yet? 8) )


Yes. They do exist. My Jupiter takes up around 4% of my CPU. I'm running a two 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, Mac Pro, with approx 5GB ram. But obviously it comes with a price :)

bayofkings

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2007, 04:57:34 pm »
:shock:

poropat

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • Karma: 2
^5
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2007, 06:15:25 pm »
Quote from: "Simon-d"
Quote from: "poropat"
so, what is the proper CPU I need to buy to use Arturia VST's, without being bothered by CPU overload? (does such cpu exist yet? 8) )


Yes. They do exist. My Jupiter takes up around 4% of my CPU. I'm running a two 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, Mac Pro, with approx 5GB ram. But obviously it comes with a price :)


Such computer, I guess, could reach the price of some vintage analog synths :roll:
MoogModularV,CS80V,MinimoogV,Arp2600V,
prophetV, Jupiter8V, SEMV

Simon-d

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2007, 02:33:57 am »
Quote from: "poropat"
Quote from: "Simon-d"
Quote from: "poropat"
so, what is the proper CPU I need to buy to use Arturia VST's, without being bothered by CPU overload? (does such cpu exist yet? 8) )


Yes. They do exist. My Jupiter takes up around 4% of my CPU. I'm running a two 3.0GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon, Mac Pro, with approx 5GB ram. But obviously it comes with a price :)


Such computer, I guess, could reach the price of some vintage analog synths :roll:


You're right! Around 8.000 euro :)

Vincent T

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 196
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.arturia.com
^5
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2007, 09:30:02 am »
Quote
You're right! Around 8.000 euro


wow !!  :shock:
hmmm maybe for the price (and the perf) the first use is not as a DAW, is it?
Vincent
DSP Arturia

Simon-d

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 10
  • Karma: 0
^5
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2007, 12:05:10 am »
Quote from: "Vincent T"
Quote
You're right! Around 8.000 euro


wow !!  :shock:
hmmm maybe for the price (and the perf) the first use is not as a DAW, is it?


Well... yes and no. I am partly freelance musician and motion grapher. Wich means, that I earn the box by doing motion graphics, and spend every daim on fancy music equipment and expensive plug-ins :roll: .  The mac is a perfect match for me. If only I could get that darn Prophet V to work  :wink:

/Love.

convoythecat

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: 0
    • http://www.myspace.com/convoythecat
^5
« Reply #13 on: September 03, 2007, 06:29:08 am »
heh, didnt check this for a few. yeah i'm not having cpu trouble. i don't have  a serious rig by any strech. it looks juse like the one in the muso talk videos. but just like the videos it works nicely in real time. a few instances and all.

i'm not having trouble like back in the 90s. i bought cubase and the the prophet emu by those other guys. it was all within specs for the pc and the soundcard but it ran horribly. i never used it for anything.

as for the mention of the roland sound in an earlier reply. yeah, i can't speak for the accuracy to a real jupiter but this thing runs circles around any juno.

jupiter 8v also recreates sh-101 very well as far as the osc goes, but the envelope is too loose. arturia should seriously consider an sh-101 vst. with a tab that replaces the keyboard with the mc-202 sequencer. it would be THE best thing for electro. listen to some drexcia and doppler effekt and tell me no.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines