October 26, 2014, 04:04:26 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?  (Read 5871 times)

deus-ex

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« on: November 08, 2006, 09:54:50 pm »
Hello I have try it only with the demo Version but can it should be that Storm 3 only runs on PPC-Macs?

On my iBook G4 the demo start without error.
But on my Intel-iMac  I get the message:

Unhandled Exception in main-Method:
java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /Applications/Storm 3/Storm3.app/Content/Resources/Java/libmp3decoderjava.jnilib


I think the file "libmp3decoderjava.jinlib" is not a universal Binary.

Yes I know. Storm is a Java-Program but this and other files not java but native files. They must be recompiled for x86.
Because Java Programs donīt run under Rosseta because the JRE on intel-macs is a native x86 JRE.

And there is the problem I Think. The native x86 JRE trys to run a PPC-Compiled jnilib and then boooom :D it crashes
Normal Java-Jars and Classes are only compiled in byte code. They run on PPC and x86 JRE. But jnilib files are nativ files.

Now my Question. Is only the demo-version not a Universal Binary or the full Version too?

Maratin

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2006, 08:45:43 pm »
Storm 3 does not run on Intel Macs!
I already contacted the technical support and they told me that the update project has not been lunched yet because it would be to expensive...

Rampa

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #2 on: December 05, 2006, 02:48:03 am »
Gosh, does this mean the end of Storm. I like it quite a bit. I do wish I could have a module to load any VSTI instrument into it on my Mac.

RT :?

dolawren

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2007, 10:35:18 pm »
I too would like to run Storm 3 on my Intel Mac Mini.

I bought the Intel Mac Mini in order to get Core Audio,
Looks like I'm forced to go back to Garageband and my Edirol sound module to compose music.

Dave
The future is one of my favourite past times

dolawren

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2007, 01:35:11 am »
I can't believe that there hasn't been any responses from Arturia,
Is Storm dead?, Will I ever get to use it again on my Modern Mac?
The future is one of my favourite past times

Antoine

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1.052
  • Karma: 36
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #5 on: December 17, 2007, 12:49:58 pm »
As stated on http://www.arturia.com/evolution/en/products/storm/specs.html, we do not expected to make any further development on Storm.

We still sell it for a while, and of course ensure support on it, but no update/upgrade should come in any future. It's a rather old software that needs to be mainly rewritten from scratch, and we prefer to focus on our actual & future developments:
 _ Origin hardware synthesizer,
 _"vintage synthesizers" updates,
 _ some other funny things that should interest most of you here...

Looks like the end of a story, sorry.
ex-Arturian

dolawren

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Storm 3 does not run on Intel-Macs?
« Reply #6 on: December 22, 2007, 04:21:39 pm »
That's too bad.
The future is one of my favourite past times

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines