October 25, 2014, 05:46:03 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working  (Read 2258 times)

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #15 on: February 18, 2014, 09:37:03 pm »
i copied only one folder "spark" with the following files in it to Live:
__init__.py
__init__.pyc
Consts.py
Consts.pyc
spark.py
spark.pyc

I know how to add scripts to Live.

you are working on a mac??
you have to copy only one folder ( not the second folder )
and you can find info here : http://sonicbloom.net/en/ableton-live-tutorial-how-to-install-midi-remote-scripts/

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #16 on: February 18, 2014, 09:38:49 pm »
right ou have perfectly understood.
You have the choice between spark and midi mode?

yes. by pressing Filer+Slicer+Roller at the same time I can switch between Spark Mode and Midi Controller Mode.

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #17 on: February 18, 2014, 09:39:24 pm »
and it doesn't work...
hum let me think on what could be wrong.

Can you check your log.txt file ?

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #18 on: February 18, 2014, 09:46:24 pm »
and it doesn't work...
hum let me think on what could be wrong.

Can you check your log.txt file ?
if you tell me the OS X equivalent for it ;)

anyway I have a gut feeling that I am doing something wrong or misunderstand you. can you write again what I should do and what I should see?

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #19 on: February 18, 2014, 09:52:57 pm »
sorry, my english is not perfect.

The script is a simple test script that work this way:
You put the script on the midi remote script folder, or the equivalent for mac.
Then you select in live option the script and associate it to the surface.
In output an input you have to put on selected track and remote
and thats all, you only have to press play on the albeton's live software and admire the leds turning on and off

BUT :
Maybe i have made mistake,
Maybe the spark doesn't work the way it though
Maybe we are going on a wrong direction :)

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #20 on: February 18, 2014, 09:56:26 pm »
Maybe it doesnt work because it has been compilated on a windows computer( mine) and it is running on a mac computer ( yours ;) )
delet all the *.py file.

you can find you log here
Mac OS X: /User/Library/Preferences/Ableton/log.txt

press play on live, open the log, and you shall see something like that :

21343 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 3
21505 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 4
21567 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 5
21757 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 6

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #21 on: February 18, 2014, 10:18:32 pm »
Maybe it doesnt work because it has been compilated on a windows computer( mine) and it is running on a mac computer ( yours ;) )
delet all the *.py file.

you mean all the .pyc files? I did that already before.

Quote
you can find you log here
Mac OS X: /User/Library/Preferences/Ableton/log.txt

press play on live, open the log, and you shall see something like that :

21343 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 3
21505 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 4
21567 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 5
21757 ms. RemoteScriptMessage: (spark) 6

such a file path doesn't exist on OS X.

but i am still not sure how I would know that your script is working. in the beginning you wrote "you press play and you see the led blinking".
which of the 16 step buttons should lit up? all at once? or one after another (1 to 2 to 3 to 4 to ... to 16 to 1)?  steady light or blinking?

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #22 on: February 18, 2014, 10:32:19 pm »
they should all light up one after the other when the song is playing

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #23 on: February 18, 2014, 10:36:22 pm »
Sorry i v said a mistake, you have to keep the *.PY file and delete the .PYC

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #24 on: February 18, 2014, 10:40:18 pm »
that's exactly what happens! but if i deactivate the spark script in the control surface menu and i hit Play in Live the same thing happens. i am confused...
they should all light up one after the other when the song is playing

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2014, 10:41:15 pm »
i know. that's what I did anyway...
Sorry i v said a mistake, you have to keep the *.PY file and delete the .PYC

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #26 on: February 18, 2014, 10:42:16 pm »
and how does the midi mode works for the spark?

pmwm

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: 0
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #27 on: February 18, 2014, 10:46:45 pm »
if I change to midi mode nothing happens on the hardware. Spark CDM has 2 Midi ports (Spark Public and Spark Private). I tried with both...
and how does the midi mode works for the spark?

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #28 on: February 18, 2014, 10:49:55 pm »
i have another idea, but don't have much left ;)

Unselect the script, and use the spark as a midi controler.
In live select for a track the spark as output instrument.
Then create a clip in wich you put F-1 notes vith different velocities.
It will help us to know what's going on

raztua

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 47
  • Karma: 4
Re: Spark midi remote script : lets get it working
« Reply #29 on: February 18, 2014, 11:02:29 pm »

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines