October 24, 2014, 06:14:02 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys  (Read 3550 times)

shawbro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« on: December 11, 2013, 03:16:16 pm »
I just picked up the microbrute yesterday and I noticed there is a low level vco signal coming from the unit constantly when I am not hitting any notes. Any of you guys having this issue? This sucks when you are trying to record something.



Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2013, 11:06:44 am »
can you answer the following questions:
1/ can you ear it if all the mixer waveforms are at 0 in the mixer. (filter LP, cutoff max, resonance 0)?
2/ can you ear it if : square volume=max, filter LP, cutoff min, res=0

Bruno
Arturia Hardware

shawbro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2013, 02:26:59 pm »
Thanks for the response. I will check and get back to you.

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2013, 02:35:16 pm »
one more:  is it related the master volume knob position, I mean in a different way than more volume means more VCO sound?
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

shawbro

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2013, 04:31:55 pm »
Ok. ill add that to the check list. Thanks!

lordschleife

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2013, 09:45:10 pm »
I am getting a high pitch VCO sound in the background of the headphone out, but the line out seems fine

BOB1

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #6 on: December 13, 2013, 08:42:59 pm »
bruno, 1 and 2 have no effect on the vco noise, it gets louder until 1 o'clock on the master volume and decreases from there on.

It's more noticable on the headphone out with low impedance earphones/in ears. Can replicate it on the line out with more gain in the external mixer. Can play melodies with it, it's the raw ungated vco sound

cskerik

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #7 on: December 15, 2013, 03:42:12 am »
I'm not in front of mine now, but I think I had the same issue and it was related to the brutalizer self oscillating... 

MicroBren

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2013, 11:10:12 am »
I'm having the exact same issue as BOB1.
A constant low amplitude buzz at 1 o'clock to 3 o'clock on the Master Volume.

I believe it's a VCO bleed through.
Here is why: pitch bend changes the pitch of the noise, triggering a key in a different octave range will hold the note and the step sequencer seems to come through the noise.

These are my settings:
- No VCO turned up, no waveform modifier up.
- Filter cutoff max
- Zero resonance
- Zero LFO
- Zero Envelope

Also tried Bruno's questions. 1 and 2 have no effect on the noise.

I've included a recording of the problem showing the pitch bend, then step sequencer, then octave ranges.
« Last Edit: December 15, 2013, 11:59:24 am by MicroBren »

BOB1

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #9 on: December 15, 2013, 01:58:13 pm »
it is vco bleed through, same as when I do not turn down the fixed cv knob on my modular vca

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #10 on: December 16, 2013, 10:06:47 am »
As the filter does not looks to modify it, it's seems to be the audio output that picks up a bit of VCO signal when going through the ribbon cable between VCA and Output jacks. It does explains why the sound changes according to the output load impedance (both volume pot and HP impedance).

Bruno
Arturia Hardware

Activ-8

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #11 on: December 17, 2013, 03:28:25 pm »
As the filter does not looks to modify it, it's seems to be the audio output that picks up a bit of VCO signal when going through the ribbon cable between VCA and Output jacks. It does explains why the sound changes according to the output load impedance (both volume pot and HP impedance).

so should this be happening???, its more noticeable when using the headphones plugged into the micro.., for me the phasing sound disappears when i have the master volume before 10oclock and after 2oclock to max volume.. i do find this a bit strange..

Yanneck

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #12 on: December 17, 2013, 04:25:18 pm »
Same problem here between ten o'clock and master volume max. After 2 o'clock it's very, very soft, but noticeable. Checked it with diffrent cables and earphones, headphone and line out.

Mmarsh

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: 7
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #13 on: December 17, 2013, 09:04:00 pm »
While I agree that bleed-thru is bad, there is a solution if you are recording: use a gate.  Most DAWs have such a thing I think.

Yanneck

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 13
  • Karma: 0
Re: Audible VCO signal Without Touching any Keys
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2013, 09:50:21 pm »
Not everyone uses a DAW. Or not always, especially on the run.  :P

Tried it now with direct input from Microbrute to my laptop. If I turn up the MicIn of my Laptop to max the range of signals (from the Microbrute) goes from Master Volume Min to Master Volume Max. After 2 o'clock it is again only noticeable very soft. Maybe I will try to get my cash back because of that.

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines