November 01, 2014, 01:01:55 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in  (Read 121 times)

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« on: October 23, 2014, 10:10:37 am »
I have a Microbrute. Everything works fine on it except for one particular hardware function. I want to be able to filter and modify the audio without holding down a key. I used the 1/8" jack from gate out to gate in, as mentioned in the FAQ, but for some reason it does not work. The note always cuts off when I lift my finger off. Is there something I am not doing or doing incorrectly? Is it an issue with either the gate in or gate out input jacks? Will a firmware update fix this issue?

Has anyone else had this issue?

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2014, 12:22:12 pm »
Here is an example of what I am talking about. I want to be able to sustain the note without having to connect to a computer to enable the hold function in the control software.

In this video, the person has the gate out to gate in plugged in, is using a 1/4" jack out, and a headphone out as well. http://vimeo.com/80525576

Anyone?

stevoj@yahoo.com

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2014, 03:23:49 pm »
Easy.  Ensure that the VCA control is set to 'Gate'.  Then press a key.

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2014, 03:54:19 pm »
Tried that already :(
Still doesn't work

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2014, 04:04:26 pm »
Is there anything I nust do before enabling the gate? Maybe I have to plug in and then switch on the gate, or switch on the gate and then plug in the cable?

stevoj@yahoo.com

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #5 on: October 23, 2014, 11:50:18 pm »
No, should work whether plugs are inserted before or after power-up or changing that VCA switch.  Are you 100% sure that your patch lead is OK? If so, then it is likely to be a problem with either the gate input or output socket.

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2014, 07:00:25 pm »
Yes, I'm 100% sure it should work as I'm doing it right. Patch lead is also ok cause it works on the mod matrix, and it's sad because I got this unit 2 days ago. I've written to my dealer waiting for his response. Will update this thread soon.

Thanks Steve.

avantronica

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 37
  • Karma: 1
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2014, 11:20:22 pm »
Test your gate in and gate out with a longer patch lead, even stereo one if you don't have mono. Connect a square LFO at full level to the gate in to see if it triggers Env
Connect the gate out back into the pitch e.g. And see if it's modding VCO

wallofnoise9

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #8 on: October 28, 2014, 05:19:44 pm »
Contacted the national distributor. The person I spoke with tried this with his unit, and he acknowledges that there might be an issue with mine. Will send it back to him for either repairs or replacement.

Thanks guys!

stevoj@yahoo.com

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #9 on: October 28, 2014, 05:48:37 pm »
Jeez, the quality control on these units is so poor, I've never heard of any product having so many issues!

BenGee

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 0
Re: Note hold issue with gate out to gate in
« Reply #10 on: October 30, 2014, 04:11:34 pm »
I think this works only with minibrute, because microbrute hase no gate hold switch!

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines