December 20, 2014, 06:56:29 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: Saving Presets  (Read 705 times)

Gothboy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: 3
    • Dymaxion Vehicle
Saving Presets
« on: September 11, 2013, 03:29:42 pm »
Can anyone give me some pointers on just HOW I can save presets in my own custom folder.  I've read the manual and for some reason it's totally different than the other synths and I don't get it.  Why is there this different way and it makes no sense? I just want to create my own folder and save them there.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2013, 04:47:44 pm by David@Arturia »
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core 5GB RAM
2 OS drives: Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Lion 10.7.5 Ableton Live 9.1.3
Novation Remote Zero/ SL MK 2/ controllers
Automap 4.7
V collection, SparkLE 2.0

Gothboy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: 3
    • Dymaxion Vehicle
Re: Saving Presets
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 02:56:35 pm »
Why is this "awaiting approval"? I've never seen that on any Arturia forum EVER?
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core 5GB RAM
2 OS drives: Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Lion 10.7.5 Ableton Live 9.1.3
Novation Remote Zero/ SL MK 2/ controllers
Automap 4.7
V collection, SparkLE 2.0

feilertsen

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: 0
    • Captain Walker
Re: Saving Presets
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2013, 02:55:27 pm »
Before you start making your own presets you need to learn the difference between Patches and Programs.
Click the "open" button in the top right corner.
Here you will see Presets, modulation and effects. Click presets.

Here you'll see that a patch is called Patch, and a program is called Upper or Lower.

A Patch contains everything you can do in JP-8V.
Example: You make a huge pad with two layered sounds using the split/dual function and add chorus and reverb using the built in effects, and maybe even some modulation.
All this information can be stored in a patch.

A patch can contain up to two PROGRAMS.
Look at the buttons to the left of the lcd display on the synth. Key mode.
Whl (whole) plays one PROGRAM on the whole keyboard.
Dual plays two PROGRAMS simultaneously on the whole keyboard
Spl (split) plays one PROGRAM on the lower part, and another PROGRAM on the upper part.
Click Low or Up to show the controls for the specific program.

To get your sounds to show in the preset list at the top you need to save them as Patches, even if it's just a single Program.
Make sure you have Patch selected and a Program loaded on Upper, Lower or both. Click Save Patch As...
Enter a name for the Patch, and a name for the Project (which is the custom folder you're asking about).
You also have a "Save As.." option for both the lower Program and upper Program, which I suggest you use so that you don't change or overwrite programs you would like to keep.

It's a bit confusing, but I think it works.

Screenshot attached.

-Fred


Gothboy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 164
  • Karma: 3
    • Dymaxion Vehicle
Re: Saving Presets
« Reply #3 on: September 28, 2013, 01:47:15 am »
Thanks I'll give all that a try and get back to you.  ;)
Apple Mac Pro 2.66 GHz. Intel Xeon Quad core 5GB RAM
2 OS drives: Snow Leopard 10.6.8/Lion 10.7.5 Ableton Live 9.1.3
Novation Remote Zero/ SL MK 2/ controllers
Automap 4.7
V collection, SparkLE 2.0

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines