November 27, 2015, 09:34:13 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Feel free to email any encountered problem at

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Analog Lab (and SEM V) suddenly not loading in GB10 anymore. How to fix?  (Read 278 times)


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: 0
Hi there,

I was loading a project in Garageband 10.1.0 with tracks using multis from Analog Lab (version, the most recent one), but guess what...I suddenly no longer can load anything from it! It did work just recently, but now I get an error message. I was about to do some final tweaking of things before completing a long piece, and now Analog Lab is just quitting on me. My project track is crippled. To think that I own two authorized instances of Analog Lab (one with the purchase of the Keylab, and one from the VC4 bundle), but neither of both can be hosted. They only work as stand-alone VSTs, which is useless. Everything I use is up-to-date and authorized, there is no clear reason why I couldn't be working with the program in the DAW that I'm using (which is also up-to-date).
The Mac I'm working on runs on OS X Yosemite 10.10.5.
I need some help, because this is no fun, and worrying as well. I can't work with programs that are unstable or just quit on me when I need them so much. Note: this issue relates to AL only. My other VSTs are loading fine (I have the VC4), but AL is causing me headaches. It also takes ages to load in stand-alone mode, so what's going on?

ps: Further testing showed that AL does load in the older GB 6.05, but that won't enable me loading a session for GB10. It is essential that it be loaded in the latter, just as it used to. If this problem is caused by the recent GB update from 10 to 10.1.0 I urge you folks at Arturia to look into this.
pps: The Analog multis I used involved sounds by the SEM V, which ALSO can't be loaded anymore in GB10, WTFWTF!!!!
« Last Edit: September 05, 2015, 01:31:52 pm by Amalgamoth »


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: 0
Re: Analog Lab (and SEM V) suddenly not loading in GB10 anymore. How to fix?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2015, 10:32:24 am »
I got a reply and think that by sharing it it may be helpful for others who are encountering this problem. I can now load Analog Lab again. SEM can only be loaded via Analog Lab though, not as a dedicated plug-in with GB. Besides, the matter regarding the lowering of security settings didn't apply in my case, since I never got the pop-up screen question. And I wasn't able to select "Disable Audio Units" in GB because the box is greyed out. Here's what David said:


Is it possible to do this:

Lower Security settings

Garage Band use SandBoxing. In order to make our synth work with this DAW you'll need to lower security settings

Screen Shot 2013-12-06 at 4.47.09 PM

   If the user had click cancel on this window he will not be able to run our plugins.

Use the following terminal command to reset sandbox bypass settings :

                defaults delete

Clear AudioUnit cache of GarageBand

The following instructions will reset the Audio Unit Cache causing Garageband to rescan the plugin.

Disable Audio Units in Garageband preferences
- a warning is displayed, click "Continue"

Quit Garageband
Delete the following files:

~/Library/Caches/ ~/Library/Caches/AudioUnitCache/ ~/Library/Caches/AudioUnitCache/

Note: only 1 of these files might exist, delete all that you find. You will need to hold down Alt and select Go -> Library to view the User Library.
Open Garageband
Enable Audio Units in preferences
=> If Garage Band still crashing or if it's impossible to launch a plugin. Delete in



« Last Edit: September 28, 2015, 10:45:07 am by Amalgamoth »


  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 89
  • Karma: 0
Re: Analog Lab (and SEM V) suddenly not loading in GB10 anymore. How to fix?
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2015, 06:20:44 pm »
Okay, with the installation of version I can now run SEM V again without a problem in GB10 on Yosemite 10.10.5
I'm glad this problem is out of the way, but once again I've witnessed the frail relation between the OS X version, the DAW and the plug-in. If anything changes in the first 2, it may cripple the latter.


Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines