March 28, 2024, 11:07:46 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register
News:

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Performane question about Keylab  (Read 12624 times)

realhelp

• Apprentice
  • Apprentice
Performane question about Keylab
« on: April 10, 2013, 11:59:56 pm »
Hi Arturia --

I just received an ad for the Keylab 61 and I have a few questions.  I am a performance keyboardist who does NOT use a laptop or other computer on stage (I have a desktop system I can use at home to configure), but I use three MIDI keyboards. 

(Please note: There are a lot of reasons I don't want to drag a laptop to a gig, but one reason is that I don't own one suitable and have no plans to buy one.  Also, I am an accomplished professional jazz/rock pianist/synthesist and I really dislike the ASIO/CoreAudio latency of just about everything out there - if that doesn't bother you, then great, but I play very fast and it's quite annoying.  So I will be sticking to hardware synths for quite a while).

I also understand that a lot of keyboard synths today really require a laptop, so if the Keylab isn't for me, that's fine.

So I have a couple of questions:

1.   Is the Keylab a standalone synthesizer with onboard sounds, or is it just a MIDI controller when used without a laptop?

2.   If it is a standalone synth with onboard sounds, can those sounds be modified in real time (ie changing cutoff freq, filter attack, etc) during performance WITHOUT a laptop?  It’s OK for me if the main synth programming is done at home WITH a computer.

3a.   It would be great also if I could define multiple keyboard zones, some of which are MIDI zones, so I can control other keyboards/modules in my rig.  Can the Keylab split the keyboard into multiple zones and play for example an external MIDI module with one zone while playing an onboard MiniMg V sound with another key zone?