October 25, 2014, 11:34:36 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Arturia's webmaster is glad to offer you these brand new forums ! Have fun using it and feel free to email any encountered problem at webmaster@arturia.com.

Arturia Forums



Author Topic: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)  (Read 1252 times)

matias_thinKing

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 2
CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« on: February 06, 2013, 08:19:35 pm »
Would an envelope generator be routed to this CV in to control the VCA in the miniBrute?  If this is not the proper use for this CV in, a quick primer would be most welcome.  However, if this is the case, then am I correct in thinking the Gate out would be used to trigger the 3rd party EG?
« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 03:38:36 pm by David@Arturia »

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 09:50:21 am »
that's it!

gate out -> 3rd env -> any Minibrute CV input.

the most useful might be pitch CV input because that the only parameter you can not control with the builtin envelopes.
If you use CVA or Filter input, the env output will be summed with internal value.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2013, 03:38:34 pm by David@Arturia »
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

matias_thinKing

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 2
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2013, 06:52:41 pm »
awesome - thank you for the quick reply! :)

matias_thinKing

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 36
  • Karma: 2
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2013, 11:42:14 pm »
one more question about this - what is the max voltage of the control signals?

Bruno@arturia

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 686
  • Karma: 27
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2013, 09:48:27 am »
up to 10V
Bruno
Arturia Hardware

bafonso

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 1
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #5 on: April 30, 2013, 04:41:33 pm »
up to 10V

I'm feeding the filter and amp inputs from the analog four into the minibrute and I can select the ranges. Should I set -10 to 10? I guess it's not possible to subtract from the current internal settings? I am unable to go from fully open to fully closed cutoff frequency. Maybe my starting settings are not good or ideal... :)

I've been enjoying getting the minibrute to FM or to using loopable envelopes using the A4 :) 

tertior

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 2
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #6 on: April 30, 2013, 06:58:22 pm »
Hmm it's -5v to 5v or ov to 5v or -5v to 5v but not -10v to 10v  or 0 to 10v I believe ;)

bafonso

  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: 1
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2013, 04:46:10 pm »
Hmm it's -5v to 5v or ov to 5v or -5v to 5v but not -10v to 10v  or 0 to 10v I believe ;)

Yes, 0 to 10v works well. I have some sound if I trigger the gate without opening the filter or vca. Is this expected behavior ? I think I should just keep the gate always open and use the vca through CV. Is this a common setup? I'm not familiar with interfacing gear via CV. And all the examples I see are gate and pitch triggering synth's own envelope.

tertior

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
  • Karma: 2
Re: CV / Gate In - Amp (to VCA)
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2013, 08:44:20 pm »
Quote
][/size]I think I should just keep the gate always open and use the vca through
I'm like that with my Kommander

 

Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.8 | SMF © 2014, Simple Machines