November 29, 2015, 10:10:25 am
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email
News: Feel free to email any encountered problem at

Arturia Forums

Author Topic: Sustain Pedal not working with reason 6.5  (Read 1530 times)


  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Sustain Pedal not working with reason 6.5
« on: November 24, 2012, 06:15:15 am »
The Sustain Pedal works fine with the Arturia software.

It works fine with reason 6.5 is I use generic MIDI KeyBoard.

But when I tell reason it's a Arturia Analog Experience 49 the Sustain Pedal won't work.

It does not show it being mapped.

If I map it, it works with pedal up, but once down it effectively stays down.

reason works fine using same pedal on a Novation KeyBoard.

This looks like a reason 6.5 problem but I was not sure if there was any work around I could try from the Arturia side of things.


  • Apprentice
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: 0
Re: Sustain Pedal not working with reason 6.5
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2012, 11:50:44 pm »

With Reason Closed

Goto C:\ProgramData\Propellerhead Software\Remote\Codecs\Lua Codecs\Arturia
Edit AE49.LUA

      {name="suspedal", input="button"},
      {name="suspedal", input="value", min=0, max=127},


      {pattern="b0 40 xx", name="suspedal", value="1"},
      {pattern="b0 40 xx", name="suspedal", value="x"},

In Reason Delete the AE49 Keyboard and Add it Again (probably not be required but won't hurt)

Under Option Menu->Addition Remote Overrides...
Select "Damper Pedal"
Hit Edit...
Step on Pedal a couple times (it should fill in all the fields)

This last step needs to be done per project file. I don't know how to set it for all projects.
I tried to figure out why it does not map it in the first place by default but gave up.

By the way I got ZERO response filing a Ticket with Arturia.
At least Reason responded blaming Arturia for broken Codec.

I'm not sure who is responsible for the LUA Codec files for Arturia Keyboards.


  • Spark Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • ******
  • Posts: 648
  • Karma: 26
Re: Sustain Pedal not working with reason 6.5
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2014, 04:32:07 pm »
Hey mswlogo

Good knowledge! thanks for sharing.

This is only a problem if you ask Reason to auto find the device automatically. It must be a broken codec from the Auto set up. I find if you manually add a control surface, go to other and use MIDI Multichannel Control Keyboard, name your keyboard and by click find, then hit a note on the Arturia keyboard it sets it up fine and the sustain pedal works as normal. This must bypass that LUA file and create a new one.

Thanks, Stuart
Mac, Pro Tools
Spark CDM, Minibrute, Analog Laboratory 61, Beatstep


Carbonate design by Bloc
SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines